GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!

10,201 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
14 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
5 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

The Hunters: German U-Boats at War, 1939-43» Forums » Rules

Subject: Flooding rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Christopher Hill
United States
Wilmington
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Over the weekend I played 'The Hunters' and something occurred to me while playing and then reviewing the 23 careers I have played so far. I have never had a boat blow ballasts and scuttled due to flooding. It made me question whether I was handling this correctly when playing. I looked for an answer here at BGG, but couldn't find anything directly addressing my concern.

During an escort attack if I take a flood damage I know I have to make an additional roll at the end of the attack round to see if the boat sustains additional flood damage. I am good to this point. However, if I fail to avoid escort contact in the next attack round and take more damage, but NOT flood damage, do I still have to roll for the additional flood damage since I did receive it in a previous attack round? In all my games I have not made the additional flood roll unless I receive flood damage in that particular round of combat.

As previously mentioned, I have played out 23 careers so far and have yet to see a boat flood out. I looked at some history on U-Boats and it appears flood damage was a bit more common than my experience with The Hunters, so hence I thought I might be playing something wrong.

Thanks in advance for your input.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael McCalpin
United States
McKinney
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I believe the intent is that you keep rolling on every subsequent round until you successfully roll a 1-4 (or 1-5 if you have an Experte LI). In truth, this still represents a usually very containable problem, as even with a standard LI, the chance for multiple succeeding flooding hits is small and gets smaller quickly. Unless, of course, you take another Flooding hit from the escort, in which case you start all over again.

Like you, I have never once had to blow the tanks to surface because of flooding, though clearly it happened with some regularity in real life.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim P
United States
Sterling Heights
Michigan
flag msg tools
Glück muss man haben
badge
But what I do have are a very particular set of skills, skills I have acquired over a very long career. Skills that make me a nightmare for people like you… And I will beat you.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Out of 25 campaigns, two games still going, I have scuttled 3 subs due to flooding. I believe I am playing it just like you are too, only check if I take flood damage that round.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt R
United States
DFW
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I've come close but I have never experienced a loss due to flooding either. I even intentionally make it harder on myself - I think you are only supposed to roll just one additional second time for flooding if you roll badly on the first roll but I just keep rolling until I succeed at stopping it. Don't know if that is really the correct way or if I'm just making it harder but it does make it nail-biting at times!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ian Cooper
United States
Silver Spring
Maryland
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If I recall correctly, if you look at the table and assess the odds of flooding overcoming the boat, it's much less common than getting a crushed hull. Again, if I remember right (I don't have the chart in front of me), you're about twice as likely to die from a hull breach than you are to be forced to blow ballast due to flooding.

I think this is intentional, since in reality, it was more common to see U-boats sunk outright than it was to see them forced to the surface due to flooding. A few of the top-scoring U-boat commanders seem to have had it happen, e.g. Kretschmer and Schepke (interestingly, they had it happen on the very same day and in the same action).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gregory Smith
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hey Chris,
You are doing it right. You ONLY check for additional flooding in a turn in which at least 1 flooding hit occurred. Yes, flooding was ALWAYS a problem but this is representing major, dangerous flooding.

And Ian is right, having to blow ballast and scuttle happened a lot less often than imploding from hull failure. The game -reasonably- well simulates this, although, as I've said before "your milage may vary!" LOL

Some people flood out a lot, but most don't....just once in awhile. Which is about how it should be.

Anyway, hope you're enjoying the game. Work continues on the sequel (as I type this, just proofed the 15 U-boat charts. Yikes.

Greg
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher Hill
United States
Wilmington
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the replies all. I had some doubts of course, but feel better about my results knowing I have been playing it correctly.

Greg, thanks for a wonderful game! I play a lot of games and rarely play games solo unless I am learning rules. However, The Hunters is an awesome solo experience and being a fan of games with great narrative, I just love the story that gets told while playing.

The nice part about it being solo is I can tweak things to add more context to the story for basically my own satisfaction. For example, I devised a way to use dice to determine dates for the various encounters in the game. I also play with an expanded German name generator to randomize names not only for the boat captain, but for the officers as well.

One other thing. It is very interesting to compare my U-Boat performance to the actual U-Boat's history. http://www.uboat.net/ is an awesome resource for reflection.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.