Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Habitats» Forums » Rules

Subject: trapped in a corner rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Patrick Einheber
United States
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
Any suggestions on what to do if your animal gets cornered in the market? We had a case where it could still move backwards so we allowed that. But what if one gets totally cornered and has no options on a turn?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Corné van Moorsel
Netherlands
Maastricht
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
sithel wrote:
Any suggestions on what to do if your animal gets cornered in the market? We had a case where it could still move backwards so we allowed that. But what if one gets totally cornered and has no options on a turn?

You can jump over opponent(s). See the example picture. I should have mentioned that explicit in the rules text (it tells something like "first available spot in 1 of 3 directions" or so).
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nathan Morse
United States
Powell
Ohio
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
sithel wrote:
Any suggestions on what to do if your animal gets cornered in the market? We had a case where it could still move backwards so we allowed that. But what if one gets totally cornered and has no options on a turn?

So, your animal was in a short end, facing the short edge, with other players' animals all in that same short line, such that passing through the other animals still would get you nowhere? If that were the case, you could use the exception to go backward.

While with 4–5 players, it is possible for that situation to occur, it is impossible for there to be no options behind you, either.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Frost

Iowa
msg tools
mbmbmb
The rules seem pretty clear that it is IMPOSSIBLE to be completely blocked off from movement:

"Take the first tile at your figure's head side, left side or right side.(Other player figures don't block this.) You cannot take the tile at your figure's backside. Exception: It there is no tile in any of the 3 allowed directions, you take the tile at your figure's backside."

Those two rules work together to prevent the problem:

- Other player figures don't block.
- If you can't move in one of the 3 directions, you can move backwards.
7 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrick Einheber
United States
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
cwali wrote:
You can jump over opponent(s). See the example picture. I should have mentioned that explicit in the rules text (it tells something like "first available spot in 1 of 3 directions" or so).


Oops, I totally misread that and missed the picture. Thanks!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.