Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

SeaFall» Forums » Rules

Subject: Colony question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John Kerr
United States
arlington
Virginia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
Mild colony spoiler:

Spoiler (click to reveal)
Does a colony give you a point every time you activate it (potentially one point per winter) or is it like buildings, where you lose the point if the colony goes inactive?


Apologies if that was answered elsewhere, I couldn't find it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Albert
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Spoiler (click to reveal)
Yes. However...

When you first build the colony is starts activated as long as you have an available token left to activate it. It stays active for the rest of that game.

In subsequent games once it is activated it stays activated for the rest of that game as well. You don't "re-activate" it each winter.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike F
msg tools
Spoiler (click to reveal)
A colony does give you a Glory when Active, and that Glory is then taken away if something makes the colony go Inactive. Colonies are not made inactive each Winter, to my current understanding, so you will not continue to gain Glory each Winter. It is most similar to Buildings, in terms of how the Glory gain/loss is handled.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Becq Starforged
United States
Cerritos
California
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Spoiler (click to reveal)
You only activate the colony (up to) once during each game, and gain the +1 glory when you do so.

(Rule 21 spoiler (later box, maybe Box 4?))
Spoiler (click to reveal)
And if you lose the colony, you lose the glory you got for it. This is a lot like the rules for structures: you gain glory for building the structure, and if you lose the structure, you lose the glory.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg Filpus
United States
Bellevue
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Becq wrote:
(Rule 21 spoiler (later box, maybe Box 3?))
Spoiler (click to reveal)
And if you lose the colony, you lose the glory you got for it. This is a lot like the rules for structures: you gain glory for building the structure, and if you lose the structure, you lose the glory.


That's a spoiler for Box 4.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Sugden
United States
Concord
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Becq wrote:
Spoiler (click to reveal)
You only activate the colony (up to) once during each game, and gain the +1 glory when you do so.

(Rule 21 spoiler (later box, maybe Box 4?))
Spoiler (click to reveal)
And if you lose the colony, you lose the glory you got for it. This is a lot like the rules for structures: you gain glory for building the structure, and if you lose the structure, you lose the glory.


While that is a reasonable rule, I can't find it in the rulebook. Do you know where it says explicitly that it is lost in this circumstance?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Becq Starforged
United States
Cerritos
California
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
If you're looking for an explicit rule, you aren't going to find it. However, common sense and a survey of the rules should make you realize that in every case in SeaFall, if a thing has a glory value inherent to it, then gaining that thing gains you the glory it's worth, and losing that thing causes you to lose the glory it's worth.

(Box 2-3 spoiler)
Spoiler (click to reveal)
If you want to be very technical, there is also nothing in the rules that explicitly states that you gain a glory for having an active colony; the rules only state that "an active colony is worth one glory".

5 
 Thumb up
0.02
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.