$20.00
$5.00
$30.00
$15.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

The Drive On Metz (second edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: advance after combat and retreating after combat rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Derek Stumph
United States
Michigan
flag msg tools
When a unit must retreat two spaces, must the unit end the retreat two spaces away from where it was attacked or can a unit zig zag and end up only one space from where it was attacked even though it retreated two spaces. My guess would be that it must end up two spaces from where it was attacked.

Can an attacking unit advance two spaces after an attack even if the defender was not able to retreat the required two spaces?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Riccardo Rigillo
Italy
Rome
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
1) According to the rules, nothing prevents a unit from doing so. Even if - in my opinion - players may always agree, before the game, that this kind of retreat be possible only when all other retreat paths are impossible,on the other hand, on the plan of reality nothing prevents a unit from retreating following a circular path in order to recover (historical cases can be mentioned, and the only obstacle is the willingness of taking the risk of ending up close to the enemy).
Last, deeming this kind of retreat impossible would impose too a heavy toll on the defender and would unbalance too much the combat (and the game on a wider scale) in favour of the attacker.

2)No. In the rules it is clear that only a "vacated" hex can be occupied by the attacker. On the plan of reality the advance simulates the pursuit, and you cannot pursuit a unit that is destroyed (you might better be supposed to clear the tactical pockets in the vacated hex)
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.