$20.00
$60.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Bios: Genesis» Forums » Rules

Subject: Extended 2-player example of play J4 autocatalytic roll question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chris in Kansai
Japan
Otsu
Shiga
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
In the J4 autocatalytic roll step, why does blue roll 4 dice?
I only count one blue biont and one organised green cube in the Mars Paleo Ocean, which should be 3 dice, no?

Also, what happens to a refugium when it has no bionts but still has organised cubes on it? Everything stays as is until the next biont shows up?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Will H.
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
If that is the manna on the refugium, you are correct. Player Blue should only roll three dice.

Organized cubes remain from turn to turn unless an event removes them or they die during a subsequent autocatalytic roll.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris in Kansai
Japan
Otsu
Shiga
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for quick response. I have another question about J7 Hydrocarbon Fog.

In J6, blue sends 2 bionts to Interplanetary Dust Particles, a cosmic refugium.

In J7 the event is Hydrocarbon Fog, which activates Oceanic and Continental Refugia (Cosmic thus becomes inactive).

Under Assignment, the playthrough states that Blue reassigns both bionts to the vents, an oceanic refugium. How is this possible if Cosmic is inactive?


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Franz Derphausen
Germany
Düsseldorf
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Chrysm wrote:
In J7 the event is Hydrocarbon Fog, which activates Oceanic and Continental Refugia (Cosmic thus becomes inactive).

Under Assignment, the playthrough states that Blue reassigns both bionts to the vents, an oceanic refugium. How is this possible if Cosmic is inactive?


That shouldn't be possible, because blue's bionts are trapped in the now inactive cosmic landform.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Phil Eklund
Germany
Karlsruhe
Baden Würtenberg
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
Chrysm wrote:
In the J4 autocatalytic roll step, why does blue roll 4 dice?
I only count one blue biont and one organised green cube in the Mars Paleo Ocean, which should be 3 dice, no?


J3 contains an error, and should read:
• Autocatalytic Roll. Blue rolls (1,4), organizing the first Manna (green & yellow) for her martian protolife. and gains a blue Catalyst.


This means that in J4 four dice are rolled on Mars, two for the two organized manna, and two for the Biont.

Chrysm wrote:
Also, what happens to a refugium when it has no bionts but still has organised cubes on it? Everything stays as is until the next biont shows up?


Agreed with Will H. "Organized cubes remain from turn to turn unless an event removes them or they die during a subsequent autocatalytic roll."

Chrysm wrote:
I have another question about J7 Hydrocarbon Fog.

In J6, blue sends 2 bionts to Interplanetary Dust Particles, a cosmic refugium.

In J7 the event is Hydrocarbon Fog, which activates Oceanic and Continental Refugia (Cosmic thus becomes inactive).

Under Assignment, the playthrough states that Blue reassigns both bionts to the vents, an oceanic refugium. How is this possible if Cosmic is inactive?


This is a mistake in the example. J7 should read:
• Assignment. Because the cosmos is inactive, both of Blue’s Bionts are stuck in the IDP. Green opts for the hydrogen volcano with both Bionts; a sure money-maker.
• Autocatalytic Rolls. Blue gains two more catalysts in the IDP. Green gains three Catalysts (1 green & 2 red).

And J8 should read:
• Assignment. Green stays in the volcano with one Biont. His other Biont initiates a salmonella Parasite attached to the now Earthbound Mars-Bug. Two Disease cubes (blue & yellow) are seized from the helicase. Blue reassigns to the vents with two Bionts.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris in Kansai
Japan
Otsu
Shiga
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Great, it all makes sense now.
thumbsup
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.