Hide
16 Posts

HeroQuest» Forums » Variants

Subject: Upgrading Heroquest with new heroes, monsters, ... rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Steve 007
msg tools
Recently got my hands on a copy of Heroquest: such a great and nostalgic game. Due to the outprint of Heroquest, I started playing and collecting Descent.

As I opened Heroquest and played it right away with my wife, we both came to the conclusion that it needed to be "pimped". So I started with altering the heroes and monster body points, along with giving them a special ability. Here are some examples:

Barbarian:
* speed is 1D10
* body increased to 16
* after attacking a monster, you may roll a D6. On a 4-6 you may perfom an additional attack.

Dwarf: (might be altered)
* speed is 1D6 +2
* body increased to 14
* at the start of your turn, you may roll a D6. If you roll a 4-6, Morcar must reveal all traps in the area you are (like left top, right up, left below, right below). On another turn when using this skill, you may remove indicated trap from the map.

Elf:
* speed is 2D6
* body increased to 12
* you may move through monsters as if they weren't there.
* you no longer use magic

Wizard:
* speed is 1D10
* body increased to 8
* you may choose 3 packs of spells.
* at the start of your turn, you may roll a D6 to consult the Winds of Magic. On a 1-2, nothing happens. On a 3, you have to remove 1 spell from your hand. On a 4-6, you regain 1 used spell.

Goblin:
* at the start of Morcar, you may place 1 Goblin on the board beside another Goblin or Orc.

Orc: (might be altered)
* body increased to 2
* both of this monster his actions might be attacks.

Fimir:
* body increased to 3
* a Fimir can, as an action, let an adjacent Hero perform a Mind test. The Hero throws a D6 and adds his Mind points to it. Is the result 8 or higher, then the Fimir deals 2 damage and heals 2 damage.

I've playtested these and it plays very nicely. Like mentioned only the Dwarf and Orc might be altered.