$30.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

The Others» Forums » Rules

Subject: Few questions on ranged fights, spawning and buildings rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kai Barnard
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
1) If you fire into a square with 2 monsters, 1 can be seen, 1 can't be seen can you kill the 2nd monster tucked away behind the building, 1b) and can it react to being shot by moving in

2) Do you spawn on the nests, or just on the tile?

3) Do the buildings and streets around count as 2 locations? Can you start a fight in a building to kill monsters in the street, and if a player starts a fight in a tile is it all monsters on the tile, or all in the street/building?

...and for movement would it be one into the building one onto the street, oh and finally do you just have to be on the tile or in the building to use city actions?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Erik Weidenbach
msg tools
1) everything is always in the whole square. If the street square goes around a building that does not matter for line of sight. just look at where the square ends.

2) doesn't really matter because of 1. but one monster in the square per nest token is possible, not more.

3) two locations. you cant fight monsters on the street from the building and vice versa. building is a seperate movement point. and you have to be in the bulding (or as the rules state it in the district) to perform the city action
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Judgement Dave
United Kingdom
Manchester
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Shadowguy wrote:
2) doesn't really matter because of 1. but one monster in the square per nest token is possible, not more.

It is possible to have multiple monsters in a location with a nest, just not (usually) possible to spawn a new monster at a nest if it is 'blocked' by 1 or more monsters there already.

I say usually as, iirc, some monsters/circumstances (e.g. hell club?) allow you to spawn at an otherwise blocked nest if there are no unblocked nests available.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kai Barnard
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
thanks all, espeically erik that clears it up perfectly
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Duerksen
United States
Las Vegas
Nevada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Keep in mind that tiles aren't simply one interior and one exterior street space. The inside area counts as 1 space, and then the street spaces are divided by the crosswalks. So, it's possible to have street spaces that actually span multiple tiles in different configurations depending on the street locations and street arrangements, with either some/most/all of those street spaces actually becoming shared spaces with other tiles. See page 18 in rulebook for a visual. As an example, a tile with a building in the exact middle surrounded by streets is going to have 5 spaces...the building (district), and 4 street spaces that will count as the same street spaces as the tiles attached around it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.