United States
Madison
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
designer
Unique titles I've played in 2018
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm relatively new to BGG, but not-so-new to board games as I grew up playing many different kinds. I've gotten into even more varieties in the last several months after discovering BGG through Funagain's Web site.

I enjoy playing all kinds of board games and I play with a few different groups of people, but the most common group includes me, my wife and my parents. We play mostly lighter games and some in the mediumish category... a few of our favorites include:
- Ticket to Ride
- Settlers of Catan
- Carcassonne
- Bohnanza
- Incan Gold
- Coloretto
- Survive!
- No Thanks!

I consider myself an intelligent person (and the rest of our gaming group is intelligent), but I just don't see myself getting interested in a heavy, 2-3 hour game where I am balancing a ton of information.

My dad and I were chatting last night about how we both feel a game like Settlers is about as deep as we want to get into a board game. He and I have studied and played Chess each other at a pretty high level and he is a life master bridge player as well. So, it's not like we don't like something heavy, we're just not sure that we have the time or interest to get into heavier board games. As a side note, my mom is also a life master bridge player but neither she nor my wife have any interest in chess (it's mostly a problem with abstract games, I think).

The board games I mentioned above are good examples of games that we think require enough thought and strategy to be interesting and not so much that we feel like we have to study the game to get good (like has happened for both of us with Chess and Bridge).

Can anyone out there convince me why I should try some of the heavier games? I'm thinking about games like (to take a few of the games rated highly on BGG):
- Puerto Rico
- Tigris & Euphrates
- Power Grid
- Caylus
- El Grande