GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!

9,992 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
15 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Fate of the Elder Gods» Forums » Rules

Subject: Raids rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Nick Charabaruk
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Hi All,

I want to see if I got this right. Say there are 5 investigators in my lodge so they start a raid. I roll 5 dice. The results are: 2 gain elder signs, 1 destroy 1 investigator, and 2 destroy 2 investigators. The rules state "The Cult decides the order to which to resolve their own dice". So does this mean that I could decide to destroy the investigators before they complete any elder signs? If so, who wouldn't choose to destroy the investigators first? It seems like an odd thing to add.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dice Hate Me
United States
Chapel Hill
North Carolina
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
The boardgame blog with worse luck than you! dicehateme.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Icehawk101 wrote:
Hi All,

I want to see if I got this right. Say there are 5 investigators in my lodge so they start a raid. I roll 5 dice. The results are: 2 gain elder signs, 1 destroy 1 investigator, and 2 destroy 2 investigators. The rules state "The Cult decides the order to which to resolve their own dice". So does this mean that I could decide to destroy the investigators before they complete any elder signs? If so, who wouldn't choose to destroy the investigators first? It seems like an odd thing to add.


That's off a previous iteration of the rules set. Current testing has everything resolving at once so that the Elder signs stick even though there's a whole bunch of killing going on. The rules are getting lots of clarifications and revisions as we refine the design for printing.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darrell Louder
United States
Dover
Delaware
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ckirkman wrote:
That's off a previous iteration of the rules set. Current testing has everything resolving at once so that the Elder signs stick even though there's a whole bunch of killing going on. The rules are getting lots of clarifications and revisions as we refine the design for printing.


Yep, what Chris said. At BGGCon (played the 'final' prototype version) I demoed it as Elder Signs hit first, then the Cultists get their sweet, sweet revenge! Mwah ha ha ha ha ha!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nick Charabaruk
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Ah, ok. That makes more sense. I guess the rules in your dropbox (Version 2 ­ Last update 7/7/2016) haven't been updated yet.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Oliver Salten
msg tools
Hey Cultists,

I've a question regarding raids because the rules confusing me.

What exactly happens when I roll an Elder Star?
a) I get an Elder Sign and remove all but 1 Investigator from my Lodge
b) I get an Elder Sign and don't remove an Investigator?

First I thought it would be a but after playing the Game b sounds
more right to me.

I hope you can explain it to me.

Kind Regards,
Gorger
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dice Hate Me
United States
Chapel Hill
North Carolina
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
The boardgame blog with worse luck than you! dicehateme.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Gorger85 wrote:
Hey Cultists,

I've a question regarding raids because the rules confusing me.

What exactly happens when I roll an Elder Star?
a) I get an Elder Sign and remove all but 1 Investigator from my Lodge
b) I get an Elder Sign and don't remove an Investigator?

First I thought it would be a but after playing the Game b sounds
more right to me.

I hope you can explain it to me.

Kind Regards,
Gorger


During Raids, the Elder Star means that you get an Elder Sign and 1 Investigator survives the raid.

So, if you were Raided by four Investigators, rolled four dice, and one of them was a tentacle, one was an Elder Sign and two were Elder Stars, you would gain three Elder Signs and remove two Investigators from your Lodge.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.