Recommend
11 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Wing Leader: Victories 1940-1942» Forums » Sessions

Subject: Solo scenario V03 rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
jonathan schleyer
United States
Manhattan Beach
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb


This was the situation at the end of my game. This was my third game of Wing Leader and I am progressing slowly through the scenarios. I have to say that I am enjoying myself immensely and may have to dive into Wing Leader: Supremacy 1943-1945 even without having had a chance to try the many more advanced scenarios in the original game...

So in the game last night, I placed the Soviets together flying slightly above the German transport and in line with the German escort right above the transport. I also placed the Soviet vector on the same location so they would circle in case they missed their tallies. Is this allowed in the rules?

One Soviet fighter tallied the transport while the other didn't.

The German fighter - a veteran experten by the way - decided not to tally and react to a Soviet attack on the transport.

When the Soviet dove on the transport the German fighter didn't react fast enough so created a late reaction. Nevertheless, a dogfight ultimately ensued with the Soviet fighter squadron breaking.

Meanwhile, the German transport continued flying toward Stalingrad. At that point the second Soviet fighter eventually got his act together, tallied the transport and dove on him. He too eventually broke, ending the game before the German fighter had time to catch up with the transport after the dogfight.

The second Soviet fighter was able to disrupt the German transport and I just realized now that that means "broken" because the German was a flight and not a squadron. So the disrupt token should be a broken token on transport Z.

So final score:

Germans:
3 (transport making it to Stalingrad) + 3 Soviet losses = 6 VPS

Soviets:
3 German losses = 5 VPS

TOTAL SCORE = GERMAN VP - SOVIET VP = +1 = SOVIET VICTORY

PS:

What is the point of the cloud cover since transports only move in straight lines and can't hide up there?
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
R. Beef
United States
Honolulu
Hawaii
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Cool beans - are you using the version 2.0 rules?

Depends where the sun is- but may stop attacks from out of the sun.

You should be able to place a vector anywhere during setup - unless SSR say otherwise - 5.3.1 - last sentence.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
jonathan schleyer
United States
Manhattan Beach
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ah! Thanks for the insight on blocking attacks coming out of the sun!

And yes, I am using the 2.0 rules and the updated player aids!

Great game.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.