$20.00
$5.00
$15.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Operational Combat Series» Forums » General

Subject: Rules Question: Reserve Markers rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David Stoffey
United States
Arlington
Virginia
flag msg tools
To the Mountain!
mbmbmbmbmb
I've gone through the various game forums and cannot figure out the answer for my life (and I know it's simple).

I've played Reluctant Enemies and small Baltic Gap scenarios now and I've only got a couple games under my belt. I had been under the impression that the amount of reserve markers forces received were for each unit. After reading Operational Matters, I noticed that the Sicily walk-through scenario put the entire 23rd armoured under one reserve marker even though it's like 6 different units.

So my question is this: Is a reserve marker good for only one unit, or is it good for an entire stack? More specifically, if I have two reserve markers in one scenario, that means I can have up to two units in reserve at any one time or does it mean I can have up to two stacks in reserve at any one time? I've played by the former, but now I'm concerned I've played incorrectly. (Also, rules as written seems rather ambiguous to me, but I'm no lawyer.)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike W
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Reserve markers can be used for an entire stack of markers.


4.8b

A) Mode and Out of Supply markers
should always be placed on top of
all such units in the hex. Except
where another such marker comes
between them, the markers imply
that all units beneath them in the
stack are in that mode
(or Out of
Supply). Some units can never be
in a certain mode or status, and
those units simply ignore any such
marker above them in the stack.
For example, SP and Inactive air
units under a DG marker are not
in Disorganized Mode.

Edit:
Also 5.4a
5.4a Marker Limits. The game-specific
rules place strict limits on the number of
Reserve markers available to each side.
To conserve these valuable markers, a
player can show the entire portion of a
stack that is in Reserve Mode with one
marker (4.8b), and the marker need not
be placed until after units have finished
moving their 25%. There are no limits
on using the other mode markers, but
players should still conserve markers to
keep stacks manageable. (They should
not attempt to deceive their opponent
by piling in extra, unneeded markers!)
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Stoffey
United States
Arlington
Virginia
flag msg tools
To the Mountain!
mbmbmbmbmb
Perhaps I did a bad job explain in a my question. In a scenario, a side is give a set amount of reserve markers. Is this limit the amount of stacks that can be put in reserve at one time or is the limit the amount of units?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike W
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Stoffey wrote:
Perhaps I did a bad job explain in a my question. In a scenario, a side is give a set amount of reserve markers. Is this limit the amount of stacks that can be put in reserve at one time or is the limit the amount of units?


Sorry, I thought I answered this question.

You have a limited number of reserve markers per the scenario.

Reserve markers can be used to put a stack of units in reserve.

There is no intrinsic association of a reserve marker with a unit. The scenario language is pretty specific to "reserve markers." Take everything literally in OCS.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Stoffey
United States
Arlington
Virginia
flag msg tools
To the Mountain!
mbmbmbmbmb
0k! That makes much more sense than individual units. In my games the exploit phase seemed... weak. This will make it much more intense. Thank you!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tankboy
United States
Haslet
Texas
flag msg tools
Does your mother know your doing that?
mbmbmbmbmb
Yup, you can pile up to 10 RE's under one Reserve marker, but beware enemy bombersdevil
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.