GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!

10,204 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
14 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Codex: Card-Time Strategy – Deluxe Set» Forums » Rules

Subject: Wandering Mimic rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Alan Kwan
Hong Kong
Hong Kong
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Am I correct that Wandering Mimic can only "copy" abilities from things which are not Wandering Mimics?

e.g. I have 2 Wandering Mimics in play. Some other unit has flying. If that other unit dies, the 2 Mimics can no longer continue to copy flying from each other.

Correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Prune Tracy
United States
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Well, your conclusion about your example is correct, but not the question.

Wandering Mimic can copy abilities from another Wandering Mimic. This might be the case if you cast Charge on one Wandering Mimic, giving it haste. The other Wandering Mimic could then copy haste from it.

In your example, both Wandering Mimics lose flying because there are no units with flying on the board. At the exact moment that the flier leaves play, both Mimics lose flying, so they obviously can't copy flying from each other.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Reid
United States
Brooklyn
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jakani wrote:
Well, your conclusion about your example is correct, but not the question.

Wandering Mimic can copy abilities from another Wandering Mimic. This might be the case if you cast Charge on one Wandering Mimic, giving it haste. The other Wandering Mimic could then copy haste from it.

In your example, both Wandering Mimics lose flying because there are no units with flying on the board. At the exact moment that the flier leaves play, both Mimics lose flying, so they obviously can't copy flying from each other.


Actually, that might not be true. A strict reading of the cards (which Codex often encourages) leads me to believe the opposite might be true. However, since it would require memory between turns, it's probably too impractical in this case.

EDIT: Aaaaaaaaaand, I'm wrong. This has already been officially adjudicated. 2 Wandering Mimics don't "preserve" the abilities of stuff that has died for each other.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Achim Zien
Germany
Oldenburg
flag msg tools
designer
badge
There's a theory: if ever anyone discovers exactly what the Universe is for and why it is here, it will instantly disappear and be replaced by something even more bizarre and inexplicable. There's another theory: this has already happened.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm not a green player, but that is so sad.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex Churchill
United Kingdom
Cambridge
Cambs
flag msg tools
designer
"If we knew what we were building, it wouldn't be called research!"
badge
Sufficiently advanced mathematics is indistinguishable from magic
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
A way to think about this (which, like so many other things in this game, is based on Magic: the Gathering's approach): At each moment, the abilities and stats of all units/heroes/etc are recalculated from the ground up.

At moment 1, you start by saying Mimic A is 4/4 with no abilities. Then you add on the effect of the +1/+1 rune on it, and Drakk's midband, and Two Step, making it 8/7. Then you look to see what's on the board: another Mimic which has no abilities, and a Nullcraft. Aha! Mimic A gains flying and haste. At about the same time, Mimic B is doing the same calculation, and sees the Nullcraft or Mimic A, and either way gains flying and haste.

Then Mimic A attacks the Nullcraft. Stuff happens.

After combat, at moment 2, to calculate the way things are now: again you start by saying Mimic A is 4/4 with no abilities. Then you add on the +1/+1 rune, Drakk's midband and Two Step, making it 8/7. Then you look to see what's on the board: just another Mimic which has no abilities, so there's nothing to gain. At about the same time, Mimic B is doing the same calculation, sees no abilities, gains no abilities.


(Yes, "At about the same time" is handwavey; I believe the details are in fact well-defined (again based on MtG's dependencies system), but don't need to be included here.)

MtG took a sensible approach with the card that Wandering Mimic was based on, Escaped Shapeshifter: it was given errata shortly after release that explicitly excludes other Escaped Shapeshifters from its checks! The result is the same, but it's more obvious MtG's way.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sharpo Bject
United States
flag msg tools
This is a good post by alextfish that explains what's happening correctly.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.