$30.00
Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Paths of Glory» Forums » Rules

Subject: Newbie Questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Cesar Costa
Brazil
Sao Paulo
flag msg tools
Hi. I’m new to this game and at this moment I’m trying to understand all rules before starting my first game. So I have some questions about it and probably much people knows how to solve them:

1.Events that depends on other events to be played can’t be played if the depending card event has been played as OPS. Right?

2.When an enemy unit pass through a supply source space it takes control of it. Right? So when it does, this supply source becames a supply source for the enemy or it only cuts the supply line?

3.When the MEF event is played the Allied player can choose one of the four MEF ports to put the Beachhead marker. This way the only space that is inside the NE Map is the MEF4?

4.If the MEF Army is in MEF3, for exemple, the only way it can enter the NE Map is through Constantinople or Bursa?

5.The ports available in the NE Map can only be used by the Allied player?

6.Are Arabia, Egypt and Kwait treated as Turkey in terms of rule 11.1.11 (Neutral Nations)?

7.Can the Basra port in Kwait trace supply to London? And what about corps making SR from London to there?

8.Rule 13.1.7.2 states that the Allied player must control Gallipoli to SR or from Constantinople. In this case he has to control Gallipoli and Constantinople, right?

9.For the effects of the rule 12.1.11.1, if one space contains 1 BR Army, 1 FR corp and 1 BE corp, and another space contains 1 BR corp and 1 FR corp, it’s possible to conduct a multinational multispace attack only with BR and FR units, right?

10.Only the CP player has cards that is “Trench Negating Combat”? Rule 12.2.4

Thank you
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kristian Thy
Denmark
Taastrup
flag msg tools
Together, we are the United Nations
badge
Gunulfr ok Øgotr ok Aslakr ok Rolfr resþu sten þænsi æftir Ful, felaga sin, ær warþ ... døþr, þa kunungar barþusk.
mb
cesaraac wrote:
1.Events that depends on other events to be played can’t be played if the depending card event has been played as OPS. Right?


Correct. (As events. You may play them for OPS or SR, of course.)

cesaraac wrote:
2.When an enemy unit pass through a supply source space it takes control of it. Right? So when it does, this supply source becames a supply source for the enemy or it only cuts the supply line?


Supply sources never "switch sides". If an enemy control marker is in a supply source space, you simply cannot trace supply to it.

cesaraac wrote:
3.When the MEF event is played the Allied player can choose one of the four MEF ports to put the Beachhead marker. This way the only space that is inside the NE Map is the MEF4?


Correct.

cesaraac wrote:
4.If the MEF Army is in MEF3, for exemple, the only way it can enter the NE Map is through Constantinople or Bursa?


Correct.

cesaraac wrote:
5.The ports available in the NE Map can only be used by the Allied player?


Yes. See 14.1.4.

cesaraac wrote:
6.Are Arabia, Egypt and Kwait treated as Turkey in terms of rule 11.1.11 (Neutral Nations)?


No. The spaces with "Allied" (tan) colour on the Mid East map (except Persia, see 11.1.13) are in play from the outset. See also rule 13.2.5.

cesaraac wrote:
7.Can the Basra port in Kwait trace supply to London? And what about corps making SR from London to there?


Yes. SR by sea is allowed, but remember 13.2.1.

cesaraac wrote:
8.Rule 13.1.7.2 states that the Allied player must control Gallipoli to SR or from Constantinople. In this case he has to control Gallipoli and Constantinople, right?


Yes. You cannot SR into a space you do not control (13.1.5).

cesaraac wrote:
9.For the effects of the rule 12.1.11.1, if one space contains 1 BR Army, 1 FR corp and 1 BE corp, and another space contains 1 BR corp and 1 FR corp, it’s possible to conduct a multinational multispace attack only with BR and FR units, right?


Incorrect. You have three nationalities involved, BR, FR and BE. Since one of the attacking spaces contain all nationalities, everybody can join the fun. You'll pay a whopping 5 OPS for the privilege though! (Okay, 4 OPS if the Belgians are in Antwerp, Ostend, Calais or Amiens.)

cesaraac wrote:
10.Only the CP player has cards that is “Trench Negating Combat”? Rule 12.2.4


No. AP has Brusilov Offensive. (Royal Tank Corps only cancels the column shifts, not the other trench effects.) CP has Von Below, Von Hutier, Michel, Blucher and Peace Offensive.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John David Galt
United States
Sacramento
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
1.[An event] that depends on other events to be played can’t be played if the depending card event has been played as OPS. Right?

Right. You have to wait until the card is played as an event (which can still happen later, since cards are never removed from the game until they are played as events).

Quote:
2.When an enemy unit pass through a supply source space it takes control of it. Right? So when it does, this supply source becames a supply source for the enemy or it only cuts the supply line?

It only cuts the supply line. Supply sources can only produce supplies for their original owners.

Quote:
3.When the MEF event is played the Allied player can choose one of the four MEF ports to put the Beachhead marker. This way the only space that is inside the NE Map is the MEF4?

Correct.

Quote:
4.If the MEF Army is in MEF3, for exemple, the only way it can enter the NE Map is through Constantinople or Bursa?

Correct.

Quote:
5.The ports available in the NE Map can only be used by the Allied player?

Correct. The color of the anchor symbols represents the fact that Britain has naval control of all seas except the Baltic and the SE corner of the North Sea.

Quote:
6.Are Arabia, Egypt and [Kuwait] treated as Turkey in terms of rule 11.1.11 (Neutral Nations)?

The answer is different for each of these places.

Arabia (including Syria, Jordan, Lebanon, Israel, the Sinai, and Iraq excluding Basra) was then part of Turkey and is treated that way in the game. These places are off limits to all moves or attacks until Turkey enters the war. The same is true of Libya (though it is not part of Arabia).

Persia (Iran) is also off limits until Turkey enters the war. After that time, it may be entered by either side. Persia is Allied controlled when it enters play, but it has no units.

Kuwait is not actually in play (there are no game spaces there), but is represented in the game by Basra.

Egypt (excluding the Sinai) and Basra begin the game in play, and are British possessions.

Quote:
7.Can the Basra port in Kwait trace supply to London? And what about corps making SR from London to there?

Yes, Basra traces supply by sea to London, and BR or AUS corps may SR into or out of Basra by sea or via the Reserve Box, subject to the limits in 13.2.

Quote:
8.Rule 13.1.7.2 states that the Allied player must control Gallipoli to SR or from Constantinople. In this case he has to control Gallipoli and Constantinople, right?

Yes. And similarly, the Allies must control both those spaces in order to trace supply via the port of Constantinople [14.1.4].

Quote:
9.For the effects of the rule 12.1.11.1, if one space contains 1 BR Army, 1 FR corp and 1 BE corp, and another space contains 1 BR corp and 1 FR corp, it’s possible to conduct a multinational multispace attack only with BR and FR units, right?

Yes, or you could do it with all three nations' units, provided the first space participates in the attack since it contains units from all three nations.

Quote:
10.Only the CP player has cards that isare “Trench Negating Combat”? Rule 12.2.4

Not quite true. The Allies have "Brusilov Offensive".
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cesar Costa
Brazil
Sao Paulo
flag msg tools
Thank you for the answers guys.

Related to question 9 I have another question:

If I have a space with 1 BR Army + 2 FR corps and another space with 1 FR Army + 1 BE corp, the only way to conduct a multispace attack is using only the FR units?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John David Galt
United States
Sacramento
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
If I have a space with 1 BR Army + 2 FR corps and another space with 1 FR Army + 1 BE corp, the only way to conduct a multispace attack is using only the FR units?

No. You can use together all the nationalities that are in any one of the spaces. So in this example, you could either attack with all the BR and FR units, or with all the FR and BE units. You could even have all the BR and FR units (from both spaces) attack together in one place while the Belgian attacked another target somewhere else.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cesar Costa
Brazil
Sao Paulo
flag msg tools
Now I understand. Thank you John.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.