Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: education [+] school [+] [View All]
Brian Zollinhofer
United States
Richmond
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I just wanted to hear some opinions on what I'm about to do with my class. I have a little time left at the end of the year, and I want to teach my students Settlers. I teach about 30 kids at a time, so I would need 8 sets of the game. Seeing as I'm a teacher, and don't have $300 (or so) to spend on a class set of Settlers, I've created a standard board on the computer (the pieces can't be rearranged) as well as development cards. I've bought Popsicle sticks and have colored them appropriately to use instead of resource cards (hey, you have to think outside the box as a teacher). I've printed out the board and the dev. cards. We'll go into the social aspect of game playing, as well as chance, probability, supply and demand, yada yada yada...

The questions are:

1. Do you see anything immoral about this?

2. Could I post these materials that I have created (pdfs) for other teachers to download and use to teach their classes? I would ask that the teacher already own the game. I also wouldn't receive any money from these materials.

My thinking is that I'll be exposing these students to SoC (many of who may never be exposed to this type of game). It will be interesting to find out, but I would assume that a minimum of 10% of my students will end up purchasing the game. That is 15 copies that may not have been sold to these students.

Thoughts? Comments?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Todd McCorkle
United States
Anderson
Indiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I don't know what to think about the original questions. Ultimately, I believe the safest path would be to contact mayfair games and get their approval.