GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!

9,995 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
15 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Cry Havoc» Forums » Rules

Subject: Questions about this great game :) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
erwin lol
msg tools
We played our first game last night (3 players) and I have a couple of questions:

a. What happens with a trog war party token if a player wins a battle but not all trogs are killed? In the rules is stated that they retreat to an unoccupied region and become a trog nest token, but what if there is an already a trog war party token present; what happens then. Does the trog tokens stack, or does it means that it’s just discarded because it’s not an unoccupied region (; there is already a trog token, so it’s not unoccupied)
b. Do human tokens stay on the table until a battle is resolved there; even if the battle is only started after several rounds
c. The humans started a battle with figures and an action later tokens where added, then the machine player killed all figures; does the battle still continues as normal?
d. In c.; can human tokens also be put on different objectives by playing tactics cards?

We really liked the game, but the orbital sniper is really very powerful, maybe a little too much in our opinion, especially in a two player game. You can kill 9 figures in one round, and it will cost the other player at least a recruit and move action to put those figures back in the same place.
In one game the blue player couldn’t play any figures because all were killed during the first 1 or two actions and the red player had at least one action left to walk in the blue players regions. Note; the yellow player was slacking a bit to put pressure on the red player. So the red player easily won the game.
And there is a limit what you can do per round, meaning that if you make a mistake you can’t easily recover from it. Would it be useful to have more actions per round? Or make recruitment cheaper?


regards, erwin
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Mulholland
United Kingdom
Mirfield
West Yorkshire
flag msg tools
I really like squid.
badge
I really like squid.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Darked wrote:
We played our first game last night (3 players) and I have a couple of questions:

a. What happens with a trog war party token if a player wins a battle but not all trogs are killed? In the rules is stated that they retreat to an unoccupied region and become a trog nest token, but what if there is an already a trog war party token present; what happens then. Does the trog tokens stack, or does it means that it’s just discarded because it’s not an unoccupied region (; there is already a trog token, so it’s not unoccupied)
b. Do human tokens stay on the table until a battle is resolved there; even if the battle is only started after several rounds
c. The humans started a battle with figures and an action later tokens where added, then the machine player killed all figures; does the battle still continues as normal?
d. In c.; can human tokens also be put on different objectives by playing tactics cards?

We really liked the game, but the orbital sniper is really very powerful, maybe a little too much in our opinion, especially in a two player game. You can kill 9 figures in one round, and it will cost the other player at least a recruit and move action to put those figures back in the same place.
In one game the blue player couldn’t play any figures because all were killed during the first 1 or two actions and the red player had at least one action left to walk in the blue players regions. Note; the yellow player was slacking a bit to put pressure on the red player. So the red player easily won the game.
And there is a limit what you can do per round, meaning that if you make a mistake you can’t easily recover from it. Would it be useful to have more actions per round? Or make recruitment cheaper?


regards, erwin


a)Occupation is when there is units in the area, so you just add another Trog Nest token - might not want to visit that region... ; )

b) Human tokens stay until they are used

c) Humans can only add tokens if the building or skill states they can be added to a battle region. I don't have the cards in front of me but I don't think they can add tokens to a battle region, they have to be in place first.

d) Human tokens must remain on the objective described on the building


You can kill 9 units in a round, but only if you have built all 3 snipers, and only if you are happy to use all those wrenches to build them and activate them. You therefore wouldn't be doing any other actions (so no movement to take control of regions.

This can also be countered by moving units in (even if it means sacrificing them) to turn the region into a battle region so they can't activate their buildings.

The actions and costs are very carefully balanced, its all about knowing what works best for your faction. I strongly recommend going to the Portal Games website, http://portalgames.pl/new_en/, and reading the strategy guides for each faction. If you're the person that teaches the game this can be really useful knowledge to give players tips on how to play their faction.

I'm also working on some faction tip cards so keep your eye on the files section.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Mathias
United States
Hendersonville
Tennessee
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Darked wrote:
a. What happens with a trog war party token if a player wins a battle but not all trogs are killed? In the rules is stated that they retreat to an unoccupied region and become a trog nest token, but what if there is an already a trog war party token present; what happens then. Does the trog tokens stack, or does it means that it’s just discarded because it’s not an unoccupied region (; there is already a trog token, so it’s not unoccupied)

Occupied = plastic units present.
Unoccupied = no plastic units present.
Control = faction control marker present.
Uncontrolled = no faction control marker present.

In your example, the Trog minis would be removed from the board, and a new Trog token would be placed in an adjacent unoccupied uncontrolled region, the number of other Trog tokens in the target region is irrelvant.

Darked wrote:
b. Do human tokens stay on the table until a battle is resolved there; even if the battle is only started after several rounds

Human tokens stay in their region until one of the following occurs.

1.) A battle, involving the Human faction.
2.) The Human player has no more tokens to place, and decides to move one of the already placed tokens to a different region.

If a battle not involving the Humans takes place in a region with their tokens, the tokens are ignored, and stay put.

Keep in mind this only applies to the tokens built by Structures and Skills. Control tokens will be replaced at the end of a Battle regardless of which factions are involved.

Darked wrote:
c. The humans started a battle with figures and an action later tokens where added, then the machine player killed all figures; does the battle still continues as normal?

The Humans only have a single Skill that adds tokens to a Battle Region, none of their Structures can do this. So you may have placed a token illegally in this scenario.

That said if at any time during the Action phase, all plastic units of one faction in a Battle Region are eliminated the region ceases being a Battle region immediately, and will not be resolved as such during Battle resolutions. A control marker for the remaining faction should also be placed into this region and any other control markers removed.

Darked wrote:
d. In c.; can human tokens also be put on different objectives by playing tactics cards?

Human tokens that participate in the Battle phase may not be moved, killed or taken prisoner.

Darked wrote:
We really liked the game, but the orbital sniper is really very powerful, maybe a little too much in our opinion, especially in a two player game. You can kill 9 figures in one round, and it will cost the other player at least a recruit and move action to put those figures back in the same place.

This can only happen if you have all three built and use all three actions of your round to activate them. Which is not possible in round 1, and unlikely in later rounds. Remember you must control the region you build a structure into, you cannot build into your Headquarters, and you cannot build the more than one of each building into a region. During activation you can only activate each building one time.

So you would need to control three regions, have three Orbital snipers built, and spend an entire round activating them to kill nine units.

Darked wrote:
In one game the blue player couldn’t play any figures because all were killed during the first 1 or two actions and the red player had at least one action left to walk in the blue players regions. Note; the yellow player was slacking a bit to put pressure on the red player. So the red player easily won the game.

Sounds like you may have a rule wrong here? Kill units are given back to the owning player, which they can recruit back into play.

Darked wrote:
And there is a limit what you can do per round, meaning that if you make a mistake you can’t easily recover from it. Would it be useful to have more actions per round? Or make recruitment cheaper?

You get 3 actions per round, part of the game is making the best use of those actions, I don't think the game works if you add more actions, but that's just my opinion.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
androner lcoyn
msg tools
jmathias wrote:


and a new Trog token would be placed in an adjacent unoccupied region,


uncontrolled region
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Mathias
United States
Hendersonville
Tennessee
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
androner wrote:
jmathias wrote:


and a new Trog token would be placed in an adjacent unoccupied region,


uncontrolled region


Yup, mistype.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.