Gary Masters
England
flag msg tools
#!STRING_NOT_FOUND!#
badge
Son of Jor-El
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Loving this game so far but quickly ended up in a situation where we weren't sure how we should proceed.

In a game where nobody had spread influence to anybody else yet, Tyrell (with Margaery as leader) had agreed to assist an attack on another player and sent Mace Tyrell. Then the Mace Tyrell card got played, allowing him to back out of the combat.

The attack was unsuccessful, to the surprise of nobody

Here's where the discussion started though. The wording on Mace Tyrell's character card says that he backs out of the encounter, but if his side wins he still gets the benefit from it. Margaery Tyrell's leader rule says that if the Tyrell's are involved in an encounter and their side loses that they can spread an influence to the main opponent provided that they haven't already spread an influence to that person.

So in this example does the Margaery rule apply? The wording on the Mace card suggests that the attacking side was still considered to be "your side" so by that definition should it also be considered "your side" for the Margaery rule?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gary Masters
England
flag msg tools
#!STRING_NOT_FOUND!#
badge
Son of Jor-El
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Just came back to answer my own question.

Mace Tyrell obviously creates a special case where he gets the rewards from the side that he withdrew from if they win. Margaery's leader ability does not have that same ability.

So in this example the Tyrell player would not be able to place an influence.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Carlton
Australia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yeah just because Mace has a special condition where he still gets a reward, doesn't mean he is still participating in the encounter.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.