Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

The Fog of War» Forums » Rules

Subject: Purchasing Cards at Year End rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mike Siggins
England
Bexhill
SUSSEX
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It is not clear whether you choose the Cards or draw them randomly.

We assume the former.

It might be useful to standardise the phrasing throughout. Select, Draw.

Good game.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Geoffrey Engelstein
United States
Bridgewater
New Jersey
flag msg tools
designer
The Fog of War! Available now!
badge
Ludology Host and Dice Tower Contributor
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
sumo wrote:
It is not clear whether you choose the Cards or draw them randomly.

We assume the former.

It might be useful to standardise the phrasing throughout. Select, Draw.

Good game.


You do choose them.
1 
 Thumb up
0.01
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Frank Sason
msg tools
engelstein wrote:
sumo wrote:
It is not clear whether you choose the Cards or draw them randomly.

We assume the former.

It might be useful to standardise the phrasing throughout. Select, Draw.

Good game.


You do choose them.


Does this apply every time I have to "Draw hand back up to three" (see 3.1.4 )?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Geoffrey Engelstein
United States
Bridgewater
New Jersey
flag msg tools
designer
The Fog of War! Available now!
badge
Ludology Host and Dice Tower Contributor
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
apocatastasi wrote:
engelstein wrote:
sumo wrote:
It is not clear whether you choose the Cards or draw them randomly.

We assume the former.

It might be useful to standardise the phrasing throughout. Select, Draw.

Good game.


You do choose them.


Does this apply every time I have to "Draw hand back up to three" (see 3.1.4 )?


No. When you draw from your DRAW deck you just take the top card.

When you purchase cards during Production, you can select which cards you want.

Geoff
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Doug Kewley
United States
Mandeville
Louisiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Why would anyone purchase a "1" army when a "3" army is available (since you select your purchases)?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Geoffrey Engelstein
United States
Bridgewater
New Jersey
flag msg tools
designer
The Fog of War! Available now!
badge
Ludology Host and Dice Tower Contributor
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There is no reason. We assume people will select the best card available of that type.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Doug Kewley
United States
Mandeville
Louisiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you. This looks like a very interesting game.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fred Buchholz
United States
Middleton
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
engelstein wrote:
There is no reason. We assume people will select the best card available of that type.

1 point airplanes are picked after your 3 or value cards to give you options on how to use them (ops into sea or land can use them and the can be part of the losses to keep from loosing more that necessary:
If you attack a province that has 1 defense and you use 2 "3" cards then one is going to op win stack. Add in a air or a "1 point" army and that goes instead.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B B

Baldwin City
KS
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Air cards also have the advantage of giving away virtually nothing for intel if they it is the only card pick. You don't know if it's a land or naval battle.

I still generally buy the cards with value 2 before the air cards, but not always.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.