$20.00
$60.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Xibalba» Forums » Rules

Subject: Attack Power Modifiers rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Matthias Flierl
Germany
flag msg tools
During our first game yesterday we have run into the need of a rules clarification.

There are several cards like "Watch Tower" or "Gun Slinger" that modify the Power value. Unfortunately, we did not find a clear example in the rulebook of how these modifiers are handled correctly.

We thought 2 scenarios are possible:

1. either the modifiers apply to the printed power value of a soldier card

or 2. the modifier applies to the total power value at the "end" of the power calculation

The differences between both scenarios are significant. Therefore I would like to ask for an official rule clarification or hint to the spot in the rulebook that we had missed.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthias Flierl
Germany
flag msg tools
Author André confirmed that modifiers are applied to the printed card values.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrick Dolan
United States
Rockford
Unspecified
flag msg tools
What about Critical Hits? The rules state that, with a critical Hit; "this attack gains +1 to its total Power".

Technically, an Attacks Power is different than a Soldiers Attack Power; being calculated by multiplying the number of Hits by the Power of the Soldier making the attack. So it seems like the +1 from Critical Hits is applied after the multiplication.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.