Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Arkham Horror: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Beat Cop's Ability rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jimmy Pattaya
Canada
Mississauga
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Can you place the maximum of 2 Damage & 2 Horror on the Beat Cop, and then utilize the Beat Cop's ability to do 1 damage to the enemy --- since this is a non-action or is the Beat Cop dead by then?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sal Paradice
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I had the same question about guard dog. From the FAQ:


Beat Cop

- You cannot use Beat Cop's ability if you assign lethal damage/horror to it.

* * * * *

Guard Dog

- You can use Guard Dog's ability if you assign lethal damage/horror to it.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jan Probst
Germany
Kiel
Schleswig Holstein
flag msg tools
The reason for that discrepancy between dog and cop is of course that there is no such thing as a "non-action", it is too wishy washy terminology that doesn't help form an understanding of the details of the rules.

The cop is a free triggered ability. You don't use those just anywhere, but in specific timing windows. You don't have such a timing window between assigning and application of damage.

The dog is a reaction triggered ability. You use those in response to listed triggering conditions. The dog's specific condition does allow you to trigger it between assigning ("dealing") and actual application of damage. (This is probably mostly due to the dog using "when" instead of "after", which means it interrupts the triggering incident)
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sal Paradice
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Could you assign damage to either during a treachery effect? For example, if you fail by 1, take 1 damage?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christian Kløve
Denmark
Hillerød
flag msg tools
badge
The man in black fled across the desert, and the gunslinger followed
Avatar
mb
salparadice1 wrote:
Could you assign damage to either during a treachery effect? For example, if you fail by 1, take 1 damage?


As long as it is not direct damage, you can assign it as you like between yourself and you ally(ies).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.