Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

The Arrival» Forums » Rules

Subject: 'Use Castle Trophy' Question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Nick Case
England
Epsom
Surrey
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
https://www.facebook.com/amuse.ment.92
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Page 10 (X) of the rules states that by flipping a Castle Trophy up to three Formori can be returned back into General Supply.

From where? Could this be from another players collection?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Farydia Pseudo
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
No, from your own supply.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nick Case
England
Epsom
Surrey
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
https://www.facebook.com/amuse.ment.92
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Farydia wrote:
No, from your own supply.


Thanks for the reply but if you don't mind me asking, how do you know this for sure? Such a clarification is totally missing from the rule book. Adhering to the letter of the rules as written, discarding someone else's tiles would be permitted. Having just played for the first time tonight, the ability to discard another player's tiles could make a big difference.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Farydia Pseudo
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok, I just compared the German rules to the English rules and you are right, the English rule is actually different from the German rulebook.... The German rule states very clearly:
"Der Stammesanführer dreht eine offene Burg-Trophäe in seinem Stammesvorrat auf die Rückseite und gibt bis zu drei Fomori aus seinem Stammesvorrat verdeckt zurück in den allgemeinen Vorrat."
(Use google translate or take my word for it , that it says from your own supply. )

I'm now a little confused which one is the correct wording. We played the German version obviously...
2 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rodger Samuel
United States
Beaver Falls
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In this thread:

https://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/1659663/castle-trophy

Ralph Bienert, who I believe represents the publishers, answers your question, stating that the Fomori must come from your own supply.

This seems to be an official answer, and also seems to indicate that the German rules are more precise in this instance.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nick Case
England
Epsom
Surrey
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
https://www.facebook.com/amuse.ment.92
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Thanks for the replies and 'evidence'. I swear I checked the rules form before posting and never found the October thread. I'd agree (even more now) that the English rules are pretty weak in places. Strange seeing how Martin Wallace obviously designed this in English, it looks like the rules were primarily developed in German which IS more precise and a poor English translation followed.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lou Moratti
United States
Kalamazoo
Michigan
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If you are discarding from your own supply, then please explain how this is beneficial at all. You discard any unused Fomori when you pass so this seems worthless to me. What am I missing here?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ralph Bienert
Germany
Gaimersheim
flag msg tools
publisher
Game's Up / Board Game Heroes
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Hi Lou,

you cannot pass until all of your Fomori are placed on the board. So you have to use them. Balor's Castle Trophy allows you to discard up to three without the necessity to utilize them (if your strategy is having a low impact of Fomori on the board).

Best

Ralph
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
acebjorn Andersson
msg tools
How many times can I use a Castle Trophy? Is it a one-time use or can it be used again in the next round? I could not find any information in the rules .
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Yegor Sadoshenko
Ukraine
Dniepropetrovsk
Dniepropetrovsk region
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Since you flip the castle, it's a one-time use.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.