$30.00
$5.00
$15.00
$20.00
Recommend
12 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Combat Commander: Europe» Forums » Sessions

Subject: Scenario 16: CCM, UNCHECKED AGGRESSION, Crono Camp. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Paul Trad

Alexandria
Virginia
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
This is Game 15 of the PT / DH Crono Campaign, where the player losing gets to pick sides the following game, and each year is begun with an extra RSG thrown in.

This AAR is presented as a step-by-step follow along, with the aim of players putting themselves into the action. Don't read ahead, but think what you would do, using the screen-Grab preceding.

This is Scenario 16 in CCM.

%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%





The Germans have an HMG & 2LMG in the top right of the screen, and elite squads in the top left, with a Weapon Team on their mortar.

The French have a mortar and LMG on the bottom left and an HMG + WT on the bottom right. There is no French squad with their HMG.

After setup and a discard by both sides, this is the situation for the German's next turn.

Cards held: 11 24 44 54 59 61

Looking at those cards, you can Fire x3, Move, Rout & Advance. There is also Smoke available when Moving, and Ambush x2 as Actions.

[i]Decide your commands now.



_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_






In our game, the Germans decided to Move against the Morrocan right flank without softening it up with firepower first. Opportunity Fire was expected and received, but only from their forward squad. It used grenades to break the first German squad to move close, but then got a 9 Smoke placed in front of it by the next squad.

A Blaze appeared when the Germans tried to Rout their squad out, Suppressing it as well. At this stage then, fortunes were mixed - The Germans got moving at the cost of some cards flipped, but were likely to lose a squad. In fact, the French did try to kill it on their turn, but rolled badly with their HMG.

At the beginning of the next German turn the cards are:

17 44 46 49 59 61

So there is the Advance still, no Recovers, a Light Wounds, and a Sustain Fire, with another Rout drawn, plus the two Ambushes still.


Decide on your commands now.


_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_






The Germans immediately Advanced, before something goes wrong. They play one Ambush versus none for the French. Note that the broken German is brought into the melee hex because it is a building. They have no Recovers, but the terrain plus the leader afford good protection.

If the French play an ambush the German squad will Light Wound. If they play multiple, both of the German ambushes will be used.

The melee has average rolls so the Moroccan squad dies, while the other Germans use the 9 smoke for safety as they shift around the Blaze.

The other Ambush card is used to Fire the mortar in hopes of dumping the Sustain action, and then using the Rout on a broken Frenchie.

Note that the target is the big group behind the Hedge, which gives no cover versus a mortar. But the mortar misses, so the Germans Rout themselves again(dumping) to no effect.

The French fire their entire left flank, looking for max card flips. Instead, a German Sniper breaks the activated squad first, so their medium mortar never fires.

The squad Recovers on their next Order.

At the beginning of the German turn, the cards are:

22 25 33 46 49 72

There are two Moves, no Fires or Recovers, two Sustain and a Light Wound, plus that Dig-In Action.


Decide on your commands now.


_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_




Okay, that was tricky. In this case the Germans discarded everything but the two Move orders. The fact the French fired on their own turn, plus no Recovers, made it better to retool than charge into more bullets. The good cover and smoke make holding attractive, plus the low result of previous French Order-fire.

The French discard one card.

Your cards are now:

22 25 35 45 55 68

There is one Fire order with smoke, the two moves, two Advances with Lt Wnd and Sustain on them, and another Dig-In.


Decide on your commands now.


_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_






Still lacking a Recover, but having other good options, the Germans try a feint by Moving the central leader and his squad forward. The French do not shoot or hinder this incursion.

So the entire German right flank uses the other Move order to press the French left.

Look carefully at LOS in this region. The defender has very few good shots despite lots of troops.

A 10 smoke is thrown into C4, in front of their forward squad LP after he starts Op Firing, and even uses a grenade to no effect.

The German mortar is kept in command range.

The French discard one card.

Your cards are now:

26 35 45 47 51 68

So another Move/Smoke combo is in hand, no Ambushes or Recovers, and total Confusion on a card. The two Advances and a Dig-In are still in hand.

Decide on your commands now.


_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_






It is at this moment that logic plays a role, plus human psychology, not to mention gambling.

So remembering that the French discarded, we can calculate as follows -

If he had an Advance he would have attacked or withdrawn the squad.

If he had a Move he would have run.

If he could Fire he might have used it already, unless it ambushes.

The chance of pulling an Ambush was very small with one card drawn.

No Ambush was played in the last melee, two cards ago.

He seems to have no Wire or Mines, but could have drawn exactly one.

If Wire/Mine was drawn, a Fire was NOT drawn, and ergo no Ambush.



In this case, the Germans enter the enemy building with just one squad and their leader, even with no Ambushes to play. They could have over-stacked to guarantee success. The French play no ambush and rolls are close, so the German gamble pays off. This indicates the French did not draw a Fire card, because if it was an Ambush they would have just played it. This slightly indicates they also do not have a Fire card, for the reverse reasoning. Lastly, they probably don't hold a Wire/Mine because both would have been useful versus the melee advance.

For these reasons, the other German flank moves aggressively forward too, even though no Recover is in hand. After they move adjacent to the enemy HMG & leader, meeting no opposition, a smoke is placed to protect themselves from the other flank's heavy weapons. The smoke is not placed on the enemy position because the intention is to occupy it with the German HMG, bringing the other French flank under fire later.





The French discard one card.

Here is your next hand:

27 35 43 47 50 68

Another Advance is drawn, and yet another Move/Smoke combo arrives. No Ambushes are there, and dead cards are starting to pile up. Still no Recovers are drawn.

Decide on your commands now.


_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_






Continuing with the theory of Advancing before something goes wrong, the Germans punish the Frenchie HMG position that lacks squad support. No ambushes are available for either side. When the Germans roll, a Hero appears, rallying their broken unit which was left behind in the building.

Because the French hand has barely changed from the last assumption, the German right flank again presses their advantage.

That same squad on the far flank tests the enemy for fire, gets adjacent, and throws a 10-smoke onto the enemy squad's position. This obstructs all enemy fire into the region, allowing the entire platoon to surge forward. Even the mortar team comes up to stack with their leader, after abandoning those tubes.

The French discard one.

Here is your next hand:

2 6 35 37 43 47

The Recovers are showing up strong, there is an Advance, a Dig-In, plus a fair amount of confusion.

Decide on your commands now.


_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_






Because everything has gone extremely well for the Germans, their leader is aware that Victory Disease could be taking hold of his mind, steering the end-game into disaster.

Malacandra's Maxim is remembered - 'A game of CC is never over until it is over.'

So the prudent decision is to discard everything but the Advance and the Recover card with the grenades.

The French Advance their entire left flank, all their surviving units on the board. They choose to melee the far south German squad with their single squad, and the leader stack moves into the 10-smoke. This is smart as heck, because my HMG can now shoot at this command group.

I would have assaulted my middle squad instead, so the next-turn another French Advance would could over-stack melee versus my leader group. Even the threat of this would force a German retreat unless they can Advance.

The Germans drew one Ambush when they discarded 4, so this is played versus the Moroccan's boxed melee value, giving the German a +2 advantage. But the rolls cause a tie, for mutual annihilation.

Note that holding the Initiative from set-up has allowed the German command to risk many things. Passing it for a clean victory in this case would be a strategic mistake.

Here is your German hand after that aggressive French turn:

6 9 30 43 52 - The sixth card was the Ambush played.

There is yet another Move/Smoke combo, the Recover cards are there but not needed at the moment, Fire is possible and the Advance is ready.

For our newer CC owners that are playing along, there is an interesting rule result you might not be aware of. If the game ends, over-stacking is not resolved because all further resolutions are ignored. There are several ways a game can end:

Time

All of one side exits

Sudden Death Objective Chit on a SD Time

All of one side is eliminated



Your Commands Sir?


_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_






You might activate the other German flank and exit, taking those objectives along the way. This will gain massive VPs, and you can even throw the Smoke for cycling along the way.

But this would be a disastrous choice.

Look at Special Scenario Rule #2 for this in CCM . The fanatical French/Moroccan defenders will get a Veteran marker for each unit exited.

If the game came down to VPs, risking a stronger French melee value of +3 might be worth it. But this match is not coming down to VPs.

Better to over-stack melee before something goes wrong.

No Ambushes were played and the Firepower is 20 versus 11.

Doing the math:

5 + 5 + 2 + 2 + 6 (ldr mod) VS 6 (box) + 2 + 1 + 2 (ldr mod)


Game Over due to Surrender Level and TPK.
12 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chick Lewis
United States
Claremont
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
VERY nice replay AND TUTORIAL, Paul.

Moroccan annihilation.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Trad

Alexandria
Virginia
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I like your title better than mine.

Chick, notice the application of GPttF tactics.

This is now my standard play-style. It is almost unfair, assuming we care about such psudo-ethical standards.

whistle
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Huffman
United States
Arlington
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I have already blocked this game from my memory. All I know is that setting up the Squads forward was a REALLY bad idea. I never drew a Move or even an Advance to let them escape. The thing about the French is that once you have a bad hand, things are really hard to fix. Combine that with a poor setup and you get disaster. This was a text book game for Paul's new tactics. We shall see if a better positioned defense can stop him next time.
2 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian
United States
Michigan
flag msg tools
"Hey, Joe! Got any live ones!?", (but Joe had no grenades). The tank rumbled nearer. Johnny stuffed explosives into his gloves, burrowed deep in the muck and waited; then deftly slapped them into a greasy tread axle and spun for cover; snap-firing...
mbmbmbmbmb
Superb, insightful report of player intent and expectation.

GPttF[?] Giving punches to the face? That's not very sportsmanlike...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Trad

Alexandria
Virginia
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
R M Chair General wrote:
Superb, insightful report of player intent and expectation.

GPttF[?] Giving punches to the face? That's not very sportsmanlike...


Chick Lewis coined GPttFA:

> Gunderian Petal to the Firewall Attacktics



https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1454158/unlike-my-other-thr...

page 1, bottom
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.