Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Breakout: Normandy» Forums » Rules

Subject: Question about supply rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Greg
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I have the following situation:

- Utah beach is controlled by the Allies, and contains allied units.

- St Mere-Eglise is controlled by the Germans, but is contested. It contains spent allied units.

- The Utah Beach --- St Mere-Eglise bridge is Allied controlled.

- I am in the Allied refit phase.

Am I right in thinking that the allied units in St Mere-Eglise cannot refit to their fresh side because the allied depot at Utah beach is forbidden from putting supplies into an enemy controlled area?

The word "into" in rule 12.51 is not very clear because it is ambiguous whether this means the depot is not allowed to be in an enemy controlled area or the unit being supplied is not allowed to be in an enemy controlled area.


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brent Pollock
Canada
Saskatoon
Saskatchewan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Without rereading the rules, you can do it. Controlling the bridge lets you feed the supply to the units, but the supply counter stays on the beach, so it ends up costing you more to supply the churchgoers.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Albert
United States
St. Paul
Minnesota
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
WBRP wrote:
Controlling the bridge lets you feed the supply to the units, but the supply counter stays on the beach, so it ends up costing you more to supply the churchgoers.


All correct. Also note: You can even supply over an enemy-held bridge/riverline as long as it's not a flooded boundary and it's the area being supplied -- meaning you can't trace your supply line over an enemy held bridge; the area behind the enemy bridge has to be the last one in the line. (12.5)

The bridge between Utah-SME is indeed very important for both supply and assaults. That's why the decision to seize it with the night paras is one that elicits so much angst and discussion.

(That choice changes the German seizure of SME-Montebourg from a 1/6 shot to a 1/3 on the 6th. If they get it, they can send units into SME from the peninsula without assaulting. A very bad deal for the good guys.)
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the replies. So when rule 12.51 says

"Units may trace supply from an enemy controlled Area at no additional cost. However, units may not trace supply through or into an enemy controlled Area."

does it mean that any depot placed in an enemy controlled area can only supply units in that area?

Otherwise I am having a hard time understanding why this rule doesn't make supplying SME impossible because it seems like I am trying to trace supply into SME, which is enemy controlled.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Albert
United States
St. Paul
Minnesota
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
ubiquitousuk wrote:
Thanks for the replies. So when rule 12.51 says

"Units may trace supply from an enemy controlled Area at no additional cost. However, units may not trace supply through or into an enemy controlled Area."

does it mean that any depot placed in an enemy controlled area can only supply units in that area?

Otherwise I am having a hard time understanding why this rule doesn't make supplying SME impossible because it seems like I am trying to trace supply into SME, which is enemy controlled.


12.5 and 12.51 are two different -- but similar! -- things and often confused. 12.5 is the supply line a unit uses to receive supply, and trace back to a supply source for VP purposes. 12.51 is the path a depot follows after it is placed on the board at a supply source. Depot route tracing is something you don't actually "do" in practice when you're playing -- it becomes second nature. But for learning purposes, follow along with 12.51 and actually start the depot on a beach (Allies) or in a Zone (Germans) and trace the path the depot can legally follow before it stops.

From wherever it's placed, then the supply lines emanate from there and you use the point values listed in 12.51 for the refit cost.

As an example of the difference between 12.5 and 12.51: A supply line can pass through a contested area that your side controls (at the cost of an extra point). A depot may never pass through a contested area on its placement route.

*And just to make things a little gnarlier, the only contested areas a depot can be placed are on the Allied beaches -- and that's because they're the Allied supply sources. (12.71)

To your specific SME example: The depot is placed on Utah. It can't travel any farther because SME is contested. You can supply into SME because you own the bridge on a flooded boundary. Units on Utah cost 1 (spent) or 2 (disrupted). Units in SME cost 2 (spent) or 3 (disrupted). You count SME as a .1 contested VP because you can trace a supply line back to a supply source as a result of owning the bridge on a flooded boundary.

That help?

Keep asking any and all questions. In practice, the rules aren't very hard. But they give nearly everyone problems who try to learn without a guide. And keep pushing through the learning pain. It's such a fabulous game with an even better community behind it.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
AlbertaClipper wrote:
ubiquitousuk wrote:
Thanks for the replies. So when rule 12.51 says

"Units may trace supply from an enemy controlled Area at no additional cost. However, units may not trace supply through or into an enemy controlled Area."

does it mean that any depot placed in an enemy controlled area can only supply units in that area?

Otherwise I am having a hard time understanding why this rule doesn't make supplying SME impossible because it seems like I am trying to trace supply into SME, which is enemy controlled.


12.5 and 12.51 are two different -- but similar! -- things and often confused. 12.5 is the supply line a unit uses to receive supply, and trace back to a supply source for VP purposes. 12.51 is the path a depot follows after it is placed on the board at a supply source. Depot route tracing is something you don't actually "do" in practice when you're playing -- it becomes second nature. But for learning purposes, follow along with 12.51 and actually start the depot on a beach (Allies) or in a Zone (Germans) and trace the path the depot can legally follow before it stops.

From wherever it's placed, then the supply lines emanate from there and you use the point values listed in 12.51 for the refit cost.

As an example of the difference between 12.5 and 12.51: A supply line can pass through a contested area that your side controls (at the cost of an extra point). A depot may never pass through a contested area on its placement route.

*And just to make things a little gnarlier, the only contested areas a depot can be placed are on the Allied beaches -- and that's because they're the Allied supply sources. (12.71)

To your specific SME example: The depot is placed on Utah. It can't travel any farther because SME is contested. You can supply into SME because you own the bridge on a flooded boundary. Units on Utah cost 1 (spent) or 2 (disrupted). Units in SME cost 2 (spent) or 3 (disrupted). You count SME as a .1 contested VP because you can trace a supply line back to a supply source as a result of owning the bridge on a flooded boundary.

That help?

Keep asking any and all questions. In practice, the rules aren't very hard. But they give nearly everyone problems who try to learn without a guide. And keep pushing through the learning pain. It's such a fabulous game with an even better community behind it.


Excellent, yes. Now I understand thanks.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.