Subject: Quality of renders / minis rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Matti
Finland
flag msg tools
badge
mb
Are you guys happy with the quality of the sculpts? I'm a bit worried that the quality seems to vary quite a lot. For example Ornstein and Smough look ok to me, great even, but The Old Iron King is simply horrendous.
I have ten years of experience with 3d art and can recognise a bad Zbrush sculpt when I see it. The overlapping wrinkle/crack brush strokes makes it look amateurish and I can't fathom how they can accept such a bad quality.
If the renders look that bad, I don't even want to see the final miniatures. At least now they still have 6+ months to polish the mega bosses so there's a hope this was just rushed before the pledge manager closes.

Seriously, compare these and tell me what you think.

Phoenix from Kingdom Death: Monster

Old Iron King
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
gary gee
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
yeah one of the reasons I pulled out of it.. don't seem to be the quality we saw at the KS launch...but haven't they changed the company that's producing the minis..or am I getting mixed up?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matti
Finland
flag msg tools
badge
mb
tootz wrote:
yeah one of the reasons I pulled out of it.. don't seem to be the quality we saw at the KS launch...but haven't they changed the company that's producing the minis..or am I getting mixed up?

Too soon to say anything about the quality of the actual minis since everything they've shown of the mega bosses are just 3d renders. No company can produce great miniatures if the base sculpts/models are crap.

I don't know if someone at SFG is making the sculpts or if they've outsourced it but if it's the latter one, they should change the artist.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
I am Abomination
France
flag msg tools
The Orzhov welcome you. Please leave your belongings with the Obzedat. They are not yours anymore.
badge