Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Pax Britannica» Forums » Rules

Subject: Mutual Cause of War -- Who Goes First? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Harambe
msg tools
Let's say two players try to establish a Protectorate in the same area, and they both refuse to back down during negotiations.

Now they would have a mutual Cause of War. But let's say neither of them wants to go first with declaring war.

Do they both declare war on each other? Who goes first with the War Declaration is important because it could determine culpability for starting the Great War, and whether or not various Offensive/Defensive alliances are activated.

I can think of some alternate ways of handling this scenario, but I'm curious what other people say on this.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ken
United States
Crystal Lake
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
First come, first served. Whoever delivers the first declaration of war is the one that declared war.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Harambe
msg tools
Thanks. But what if both players dig in, refuse to downgrade their marker, and also refuse to declare war first during the Negotiation or War phase (because they are aware of the Great War penalty, or alliance politics)?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Rubin
United States
Trenton
New Jersey
flag msg tools
badge
Harmony, liberal intercourse with all nations, are recommended by policy, humanity, and interest.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Then they BOTH downgrade to Influences when they allow their Casus Belli expire.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ken
United States
Crystal Lake
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
dirubin wrote:
Then they BOTH downgrade to Influences when they allow their Casus Belli expire.


This. Either they declare war or they voluntarily downgrade.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.