Um, yeah, I'm wondering about this too. Also, I will mostly be playing this with just 2-players, so the scoring might as well be just 1 pt per room.
Not necessarily. It depends on how you choose to interpret the scoring rules for two players. You could interpret the official rules that scoring two points for the 'second position' in any given room requires that you have placed at least one chip in that room. Thus it would be possible for a person to score four points, and the other player to score nothing. I haven't played enough games with two players to see how this scoring interpretation compares to the alternative (where the second player scores two points whether or not they have actually placed a chip in a given room).