Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Great Western Trail» Forums » Rules

Subject: Auxiliary Actions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Justin Haviland
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
In the JonGetsGames walkthrough of Great Western Trail, I noticed that on some of the building tiles he took both the local action and the auxiliary action listed on the tile. The rulebook states that auxiliary actions can be taken if and only if the local action isn't used.

Was he incorrect in how he used auxiliary actions?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Combs
United States
Spring Lake Park
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
When the double auxiliary action is listed on a building tile, that means that it is part of the actions for that building. You may take the actions listed on the building, in those cases the double auxiliary action plus the other action, or just take a single auxiliary action.

The icon for the single auxiliary action you can take instead of the building action is not printed on the building tile.
10 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert
Germany
Bocholt
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In our games, the neutral buildings with the double auxiliary action are visited quite often, as they are attractive regardless of your strategy:
- getting new (and hopefully more valuable) cards if you're doing a cowboy strategy,
- getting that extra prestige required to deliver to a certain city,
- cleaning your deck from low-value cards if you're aiming at a valuable deck,
- moving extra steps on the train track if you're doing a train strategy,
- sometimes even to get those two extra dollars which will make the difference to pay XYZ at the next building.
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.