$30.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Railroad Revolution» Forums » Rules

Subject: Must you promote a worker if you are able to? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Stuart Burnham
United Kingdom
Abingdon
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
For example.

On your first turn you place a white worker on the trade action.
(You must complete the main action in full, but do not have to use the promote ability that is marked on the player board.)
You must sell a rail for $400 and you must flip your train.

The only train you have is the starting "promote one or two workers".

You have a turquoise worker from game set up.
You were also dealt a starting milestone that requires a turquoise worker.

Must you 'lose' that worker (having never placed it in this instance) or can you just flip the train and not promote them?

(If that is the case it obviously makes sense to use them for their bonus first and then promote/ lose them with a later action!)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michiel Hillenius
Netherlands
Hoogland (Amersfoort)
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
No. It's a privilege, it's optional. Especially in the beginning of the game most likely, you will not take the promotion action.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Combs
United States
Spring Lake Park
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
On page 1p of the rule book, in the Trade action section it says before or after you make the sale, you may flip one of your train tiles. So you are not required to flip a train tile when taking the trade action.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Keith B
United States
Katy
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
dhc3po wrote:
On page 1p of the rule book, in the Trade action section it says before or after you make the sale, you may flip one of your train tiles. So you are not required to flip a train tile when taking the trade action.


Which conflicts with what's stated on page 5 under "Actions and Workers", clearly stated in bold - The top part of the action space shows the main action, which must be performed completely.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben O'Steen
United Kingdom
Bishops Stortford
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
texascpa wrote:
dhc3po wrote:
On page 1p of the rule book, in the Trade action section it says before or after you make the sale, you may flip one of your train tiles. So you are not required to flip a train tile when taking the trade action.


Which conflicts with what's stated on page 5 under "Actions and Workers", clearly stated in bold - The top part of the action space shows the main action, which must be performed completely.


The Trade Main action set is:

- discard building or rail from the leftmost section of your board
- gain money according to its value
- (optional) Before or after discarding a building, flip a train.

You must deal with each of these points completely: You must discard. You must gain money. You may flip a train tile if you wish at some point, before or after discarding.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.