$30.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Ukraine '43» Forums » Rules

Subject: Priorities in the Retreat rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Carlos S. Olivares Pérez
Spain
Vigo
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Let’s see if I have understood the Retreat. See the image. The 12-10-7 axis unit has attacked the 7-6-6 soviet unit. The result is a DR, and he decides (just for have this question) to retreat 2 hexes instead of doing a Determined Defense.

.
The possibilities are these:

OPTION 1: 3918-3919 (with the other Soviet unit) – against priority #1, against priority #2, against priority #3
OPTION 2: 3918-3819 – against priority #2, against priority #6
OPTION 3: 3918-3917 – against priority #2, against priority #6
OPTION 4: 3919-3819 – against priority #2, against priority #6
OPTION 5: 3919-3918 – against priority #2, against priority #6

With this, it seems that preferred options are options from 2 to 5, as they comply with priority 1 of ending 2 hexes away from the combat… but if the unit uses those Retreats, it is eliminated! Shouldn't be the first priority the number 6 of the Retreat Direction Guidelines (12.1.3): Retreat to any hex that does not cause elimination? It is strange that a unit prefers to get away from the combat than stay alive.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Simonitch
United States
Rockwall
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
mb
This is a very good question and makes a good case that Priority #6 (survival) should really be the first priority. And if survival was the main priority, then the retreat must be to 3918, then 3920. Ending in 3920 is legal since the EZOC is negated in that hex. Ending a retreat only 1 hex away from the enemy (after a 2 hex retreat) is ONLY allowed if survival is at stake.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Albatros
France
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Simon7itch wrote:
And if survival was the main priority, then the retreat must be to 3918, then 3920.

We suppose you meant 3918 to 3919 dear Mark. Thanks for reply, I had same brain work about this case, but assumed that survival is the priority.

And thanks for this amazing game thumbsup
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.