Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Winter Thunder» Forums » Rules

Subject: Advances and Retreats rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Casey Bruyn
Canada
Hamilton
Ontario
flag msg tools
"In retreating or advancing, the units involved must
move to hexes that are not occupied by enemy units and to
which they could move in the course of tactical movement."


Does this also include across Rivers?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Walker
United States
Henry
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
'65 Squad Level Combat in Vietnam. On Kickstarter!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Casey, let me get Brian to drop in.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Train
Canada
Victoria
British Columbia
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
bruynca wrote:
"In retreating or advancing, the units involved must
move to hexes that are not occupied by enemy units and to
which they could move in the course of tactical movement."


Does this also include across Rivers?



Short answer, Yes.

This question was partly answered by the reply to your query in https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1628172/movement

If a unit could cross the river if it were doing regular Tactical Movement, then it could cross if it were retreating.

So, to spell it out, a full-strength division, HQ or non-motorized unit of any size could retreat or advance across a river.
A motorized unit stacked with a full-strength division or HQ could do so also, but the division or HQ need not be advancing as well, as amplified in the previous reply:

Quote:
A motorized unit that starts its activation stacked with a full strength division or HQ unit next to a river spends all its MF to cross the river, but it does not have to cross the river with the stack (nor does the stack have to cross the river).
The thinking here is that a full strength division or corps/army HQ unit will have bridging resources with it sufficient to let a motorized unit cross.


Brian
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Walker
United States
Henry
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
'65 Squad Level Combat in Vietnam. On Kickstarter!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks, Brian.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Casey Bruyn
Canada
Hamilton
Ontario
flag msg tools
"A unit that cannot retreat the full distance indicated for any reason
(....) retreats as far as it can then takes an automatic step loss".

I assume that if a unit can not retreat at all(zero hexes) that it is eliminated.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Train
Canada
Victoria
British Columbia
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No, the unit would take a step loss.
A full strength division has enough bulk that it would take more than a day to be chopped up in place, and a non-divisional unit would be eliminated by a step loss anyway.

Brian
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.