$30.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Arkham Horror: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Automatic fail rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Luc Jacobs
Belgium
Lichtaart
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Treachery: Rotting remains (test willpower 3), for each point you fail take 1 horror. Wendy has 4 willpower. Then I draw the automatic failur failure.
How much horror do I take? I guess none? Since 4-3 = +1 so no negative value.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Bigmore
England
Abingdon
Oxon
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Iliamel wrote:
How much horror do I take? I guess none? Since 4-3 = +1 so no negative value.

3 horror, since Wendy's total skill value for that test is 0.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kelly B
United States
Ann Arbor
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
It is considered '0' for the purposes of math issues.

And to clarify, if you were somehow able to reduce the value you were testing against to zero then it would still be a failure. It's a failure no matter what but when mathing it out it's a value of zero.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Hill
United Kingdom
Cambridge
Cambridgeshire
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Auto fail = result of zero, regardless of skill value.

So, in this instance you would take 3 Horror.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Luc Jacobs
Belgium
Lichtaart
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Found it. Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
marco nwitdg
Italy
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The auto fail (or card effect) case is clear.

But what if, in the OP example, Wendy draw -6?
The final modified skill value would be 4-6=-2: how much horror does she take?
To succeed she needs, at worst, a -1 (4-1)=3 -> 3-3=0 -> ok.
But with -6 she fails the test by 5 points (-2-3), so I guess she must take five horror tokens.

IIRC, in the RR (p.26, ST.6), there is no mention to reduce to zero a negative modified skill value.

Do I get something wrong?

Thanks!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kelly B
United States
Ann Arbor
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
This has been confirmed by FFG (Matt) and will be in an upcoming FAQ. You do the math for each value separately, if either are below zero then it brings it to zero. Then you compare.

It is in the order of steps for resolving skills in the RR.

It becomes clear with a cross reference of a few pages. You modify the skill value before comparison.

Page 15: Modifiers is key.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dee
Sweden
Stockholm
flag msg tools
mb
The rule is in the Rules Reference, but don't feel bad for not stumbling upon it. It's in the entry titled 'Modifiers', p15.

Essentially, apply modifiers to whatever and if they end up at a negative value, that value becomes zero.

Before you begin the skill check, you will have needed to establish a 'difficulty', the number you will check against. Example: location with a shroud of 1, and you spend one use of flashlight to investigate. The shroud goes to -1, so we treat it as zero. We go in to the skill test with a difficulty:0 check.

In step 5 of the skill test, you take the relevant number on your investigator and apply all the modifiers that were committed, that are active on cards in play, that the chaos bag brought to proceedings. Let's say you end up with a final value of -2. We treat it as a value of zero.

Comparing our modified skill value of zero with the difficulty of zero, we succeed!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
marco nwitdg
Italy
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks!
Sadly, I went insane for no reason! :-)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
MC Shudde M'ell
United States
Utah
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
cyberdisc wrote:
Thanks!
Sadly, I went insane for no reason! :-)


Welcome to Arkham
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.