Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Star Wars: Destiny» Forums » Rules

Subject: Question on Jango rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Daniel Shaharuddin
United States
California
flag msg tools
Jango Fett
After a opponent activates a character you may activate this character.

What do they mean by this? So I go then you go and then I get to go right after? Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Francisco
United States
Cumberland
Rhode Island
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Right. They activate, you activate, and then you take your regular turn.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dax is
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
To be clear, it means that when an opponent exhausts his character to roll it's dice then you can do the same with Jango and then take your regular turn afterwards.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex Frikium
United States
Rochester
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
daniels072000 wrote:
Jango Fett
After a opponent activates a character you may activate this character.

What do they mean by this? So I go then you go and then I get to go right after? Thanks

Follow up question, what if an upgrade with ambush is equipped to Rey (providing 2 additional actions from ambush and Rey's ability), and for the first action they activate Rey. Does Jango Fett activate then or wait until the second action is resolved?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Witold G
Poland
Bytom
flag msg tools
Avatar
Wassabi wrote:
Follow up question, what if an upgrade with ambush is equipped to Rey (providing 2 additional actions from ambush and Rey's ability), and for the first action they activate Rey. Does Jango Fett activate then or wait until the second action is resolved?


Rules Reference p. 16, "Queue" subsection:
"Abilities in the
queue are resolved in the order they entered it. Each one
must fully resolve before the next one resolves. If, during the
resolution of an ability in the queue, another ability is added,
it moves to “the end” of the queue and is resolved last.
•Abilities enter and leave the queue in chronological order,
based on a “first in, first out” principle."


I believe it goes like this...

First, both abilities which provide additional action enter the queue.

Then first of them leaves the queue when it's resolved (Rey's activation) and Jango's ability is added to the queue at the end.

So Jango waits for the second action to resolve. However, if this second action adds yet another "one more action" ability, this third action enters the queue after Jango's ability.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
San Jose
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
Assuming that Jango's activation goes at the end of the queue (after both Rey's additional actions, does he have to decide whether to use it after Rey's first action (assuming activation), so he can get that action in the queue in the first place?

All the relevant text (afaik):

Quote:
Rey: After you play an upgrade on this character, you may take one additional action.
Jango: After an opponent activates a character, you may activate this character.


Quote:
RR:
AMBUSH
After playing (and resolving) a card with Ambush, a player
may immediately take another action.
• If a player is allowed to take an action outside of their turn,
they immediately take it.

TRIGGER CONDITION
A trigger condition indicates the timing point at which an
ability may be used, and always follows either the word “after”
or “before.” A trigger condition matches a specific occurrence
that takes place in the game.

AFTER ABILITIES
If, during the course of a game, an after ability meets its
trigger condition, it resolves following the resolution of the
trigger condition. Unlike before abilities, after abilities do not
interrupt the flow of the game, and instead wait their turn in
the queue to resolve.

QUEUE
After abilities enter an imaginary line once they meet their
trigger conditions, known as the queue. They wait in the
queue until the trigger condition is complete. If the trigger
condition was part of another ability, that entire ability is
completed before the after ability resolves. Abilities in the
queue are resolved in the order they entered it. Each one
must fully resolve before the next one resolves. If, during the
resolution of an ability in the queue, another ability is added,
it moves to “the end” of the queue and is resolved last.
• Abilities enter and leave the queue in chronological order,
based on a “first in, first out” principle.
• If two or more abilities have the same trigger condition, the
player who controls the battlefield decides the order they
enter the queue.

SIMULTANEOUS ABILITIES
When two or more triggered abilities meet their trigger conditions
at the same time, the player who controls the battlefield chooses
the order they resolve in (in the case of before abilities) or enter
the queue in (in the case of after abilities).
Example: A Tusken Raider (r22) is activated with Jango Fett
(r21) in play. Both have an after ability that can resolve after
the Tusken Raider activates, so it is the battlefield controller’s
choice as to which one enters the queue first.



 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jarrod Babel
United States
Terre Haute
Indiana
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Here's how it goes.
Holdout blaster is played on Rey.
Ambush and Rey's special both trigger as after effects and enter the queue in that order.
Ambush grants an action.
Rey's special grants an action.
Queue is now empty and it's Rey's controller's turn for the next 2 actions.

Note that jango has not had any reason to do anything since none of the opponents characters have activated (but may as part of the next 2 actions).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.