$30.00
el Bebok
Poland
flag msg tools
The rulebook on page 12 states that "When all figures on an army card has been destroyed, the army card is placed in your army card graveyard."

The "Darkness Arises" has description:
"At the start of the turn of a black Planeswalker you control, if all Restless Zombies are in your figure graveyard, you may roll the 20-sided die. [... to revive each zombie from graveyard ...]"

How the heck I can use this ability if the Restless Zombies army card is out of play? All zombies are destroyed = figures go to graveyard and army card goes to graveyard too. If the card is in garveyard it means its out of play. There is no special condition or any specific rule that says that you can use abilities from cards placed in graveyard. How this army card can simultaneously be out of play and have active abilities? strange. Anyone would want to explain it?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J.D. Schipper
United States
Prescott Valley
Arizona
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You can play the Restless Zombies ability from the graveyard. The card doesn't make sense otherwise.

In Magic: The Gathering, there are many cards that interact with the graveyard and some that can even be cast from the graveyard. All zones (battlefield, library/deck, graveyard, etc.) are still in the game.

EDIT: Here's an example of a Magic: The Gathering card that does something similar: Bloodghast
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trueflight Silverwing
United States
Waverly
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yep. Nowhere does it say that you can't use the ability on the card even if it is in the graveyard. In fact the ability specifically allows you to do just that.

Lot's of cards in magic have abilities that can take effect in the graveyard. In fact there are many that can only be used from the Graveyard. I think you are just overthinking it really. It's not as complicated as it seems
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.