Hide
7 Posts

BoardGameGeek» Forums » Gaming Related » Recommendations

Subject: Settlers of Catan rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Macady Smith
msg tools
Im fairly new to board games but I have started my collection and I love playing all types of board games. However I don't have very many people to play my games with. Im slowly introducing them to my games and Im wondering what type of Settlers of Catan to get. I know there are many different versions and want to get one that I will enjoy playing and won't comfuse my family.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jerry Wilkinson
United States
New Castle
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
When asking "What would Jesus do?", remember that flipping over tables and using a whip are within the realm of possibilities.
mbmbmbmbmb
The current edition should be all you need.

Catan
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan
New Zealand
Auckland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Regular Catan is fine. Do a dummy playthrough yourself before trying to teach other players. It is fairly easy to learn. Here is a step by step tutorial. http://www.profeasy.com/Settlers_Boardgame/

Great game and different every time. Good mix of luck and strategy.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Mansfield
United States
Poway
California
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
To start, just the original: Catan.

If you like it, you can try some of the expansions or re-themes. I haven't tried any of those, but the original is fine enough for a family game.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bojan Tonkovic
Croatia
flag msg tools
Mac345 wrote:
Im fairly new to board games but I have started my collection and I love playing all types of board games. However I don't have very many people to play my games with. Im slowly introducing them to my games and Im wondering what type of Settlers of Catan to get. I know there are many different versions and want to get one that I will enjoy playing and won't comfuse my family.