Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Pax Renaissance» Forums » Rules

Subject: Syncretism: Does it protect East or West or Both? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Hans van der Drift
Australia
Bulimba
Qld
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The Hermeticism card has the special text ability of

Syncretism: Your cards are immune to silencing by bishops.

The location on this card is the West.

Is the special text localised to the West or does it protect both East and West?

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rich James
United States
Plano
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I think it applies to all cards. There's a card, for example, the gives the ability to play East and West ops as one action. I don't recall if the card itself is an East or West card, but it wouldn't work if we had to constrain that special ability to just the card's location.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Phil Eklund
Germany
Karlsruhe
Baden Würtenberg
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
hvddrift wrote:
The Hermeticism card has the special text ability of

Syncretism: Your cards are immune to silencing by bishops.

The location on this card is the West.

Is the special text localised to the West or does it protect both East and West?


In spite of the fact that the Ability says "Your cards", for thematic reasons I prefer it to be played as if it said "Your west cards..."
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeremy Kidder
United States
Martensdale
Iowa
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
phileklund wrote:
hvddrift wrote:
The Hermeticism card has the special text ability of

Syncretism: Your cards are immune to silencing by bishops.

The location on this card is the West.

Is the special text localised to the West or does it protect both East and West?


In spite of the fact that the Ability says "Your cards", for thematic reasons I prefer it to be played as if it said "Your west cards..."

Phil is this your official ruling or simply your preference. As you are the game designer it is hard for me yo know how to read this.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.