$15.00
$5.00
$20.00
$30.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Star Wars: Destiny» Forums » Rules

Subject: Hunker Down & Melee Damage rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Alex Frikium
United States
Rochester
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hunker Down (card 164) states: "If attached character takes melee damage, discard this upgrade."

My question is that if the host character is shielded, does it still count as "taking melee damage" if said melee attack is completely soaked up by shielding?

-thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack
United States
Cumberland
Rhode Island
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
The rules say that shields block damage. By that reasoning, you did not "take damage" so no, do not discard.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Witold G
Poland
Bytom
flag msg tools
Clarified twice in full rules.

Rules Reference p. 19, "Taking Damage" section:
"Damage is taken only when one or more damage tokens are
placed on the character. If all damage dealt was blocked by
shields or some other ability, then no damage was taken.

• Damage not taken is still dealt.

Example: Hunker Down (Awakening 164) says “After this character
takes melee damage, discard this upgrade.” If two melee
damage is dealt to the character but is blocked by 2
shields, then no damage was taken by the character and
Hunker Down is not discarded.
"



Rules Reference p. 22, "Card Clarifications" section:
"HUNKER DOWN (Awakenings 164)
• If shields block all melee damage that was dealt to a
character with Hunker Down attached, then the character
did not take any damage and keeps the upgrade."



Link to rules reference PDF:
https://images-cdn.fantasyflightgames.com/filer_public/67/12...
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex Frikium
United States
Rochester
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Perf wrote:
Clarified twice in full rules.

Rules Reference p. 19, "Taking Damage" section:
"Damage is taken only when one or more damage tokens are
placed on the character. If all damage dealt was blocked by
shields or some other ability, then no damage was taken.

• Damage not taken is still dealt.

Example: Hunker Down (Awakening 164) says “After this character
takes melee damage, discard this upgrade.” If two melee
damage is dealt to the character but is blocked by 2
shields, then no damage was taken by the character and
Hunker Down is not discarded.
"



Rules Reference p. 22, "Card Clarifications" section:
"HUNKER DOWN (Awakenings 164)
• If shields block all melee damage that was dealt to a
character with Hunker Down attached, then the character
did not take any damage and keeps the upgrade."



Link to rules reference PDF:
https://images-cdn.fantasyflightgames.com/filer_public/67/12...


Thanks for the clarification! I'm embarrassed it was clearly addressed in the rulebook.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Ciuppa

Georgia
msg tools
Wassabi wrote:
Perf wrote:
Clarified twice in full rules.

Rules Reference p. 19, "Taking Damage" section:
"Damage is taken only when one or more damage tokens are
placed on the character. If all damage dealt was blocked by
shields or some other ability, then no damage was taken.

• Damage not taken is still dealt.

Example: Hunker Down (Awakening 164) says “After this character
takes melee damage, discard this upgrade.” If two melee
damage is dealt to the character but is blocked by 2
shields, then no damage was taken by the character and
Hunker Down is not discarded.
"



Rules Reference p. 22, "Card Clarifications" section:
"HUNKER DOWN (Awakenings 164)
• If shields block all melee damage that was dealt to a
character with Hunker Down attached, then the character
did not take any damage and keeps the upgrade."



Link to rules reference PDF:
https://images-cdn.fantasyflightgames.com/filer_public/67/12...


Thanks for the clarification! I'm embarrassed it was clearly addressed in the rulebook.


Don't be, I'm glad you asked. I was able to find out the answer because you asked. Thanks for that!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.