$60.00
$20.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Mansions of Madness: Second Edition» Forums » Rules

Subject: Combined horror and damage rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Michael D. Kelley
United States
Silver Spring
Maryland
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Some effects in the app say to take "2 facedown horror and 1 damage."

There are two ways to read that. The first is to assume that BOTH horror and damage are facedown. The second possibility is that the damage is face-up.

I tend to think it's option 2, but wanted to know the interpretations of others.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mikael mordai
Denmark
flag msg tools
mb
All damage and horror is face up unless the app tells you otherwise...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wally Hartshorn
United States
Springfield
Illinois
flag msg tools
mb
I would interpret that wording as 2 horror facedown and 1 damage face-up.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The structure of the sentence only supports the facedown being applied to the Horror in that example.

It would become ambiguous if the app were to ever use: "facedown 2 Horror and 1 Damage," but I have never seen that. It always seems to appear as: "2 facedown Horror and 1 Damage," in which the 'facedown' adjective only applies to the Horror, not the Damage.

If both are to be facedown, the app would say, "2 facedown Horror and 1 facedown Damage."
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael D. Kelley
United States
Silver Spring
Maryland
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks all. This is how we've been playing it. Appreciate the answers!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Stevenson
msg tools
mbmbmb
The rules state that all damage is face up unless otherwise specified.
In this case, only the horror is specified as face down.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Oh, just to make one more thing clear before anyone asks the question again... When such instructions are given a negation roll, it does apply to both Damage and Horror.

So, assume you are told to: "Suffer 2 facedown Horror and 1 Damage (Will negates)," and you roll 2 successes. You could negate both Horror and take 1 Damage (face-up), or avoid 1 Damage and 1 Horror and take 1 facedown Horror.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael D. Kelley
United States
Silver Spring
Maryland
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
I agree with you all the it is grammatically clear.

But it could be clearer if they put the face-up term first.

For examples, "1 damage and 2 facedown horror."

That would take away even the slight chance of misinterpretation.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.