$60.00
$20.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Mistfall: Heart of the Mists» Forums » Rules

Subject: Reinforcement track rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Léan -
Netherlands
Eindhoven
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
We didn't quite get the reinforcement track.
The normal side shows:

(0) (1) (2) (2 and >1hourglass) (3) (3 and >1hourglass) (>1hourglass)

The boxes with the hourglasses have a black background and have white numbers.
What exactly happens here in the fourth box (2 and >1hourglass)?

Is the 2 the number of enemies that are going to be drawn? Or does it refer to the event number from the quest book? Since it says on page 17 (second paragraph, right column) in the rule book:

"Whenever you move on a white number printed on a dark background, refer to the current quest in order to find out its effect. Note that some Quests provide no special effects for Events, in which case the Event Number is ignored."

And what about the last box that only shows (>1hourglass). What happens there, should the tracker reach that box? Nothing, except for moving the time track? No enemies?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jan Probst
Germany
Kiel
Schleswig Holstein
flag msg tools
You move the time track 1 forward the moment the reinforcement track hits that space. It still has a number in it that works like all other reinforcement numbers - if the encounter is still active next reinforcement phase, that's the number of new enemies you get.

The last box just penalizes you 1 time for each reinforcement that would advance, you should probably avoid getting there

(Beware of unexpected time advancement from reinforcement settings that boost the reinforcement track before spawning enemies)


The white on black numbers on the time track are for events, check the quest guide if they do anything in the current quest.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Léan -
Netherlands
Eindhoven
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Weltenreiter wrote:


The last box just penalizes you 1 time for each reinforcement that would advance, you should probably avoid getting there


Thanks for the clarification. I just don't understand this sentence. 'each' reinforcement?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jan Probst
Germany
Kiel
Schleswig Holstein
flag msg tools
The last Reinforcement track box has no Reinforcement number and would thus break the Reinforcement System. We therefore conclude that you are never supposed to actually enter it (stay at the last-but-one box with 4 Reinforcement), but per additional Reinforcement you *would* generate, take +1 Time penalty instead.

(I can't cite the rulebook for this, probably because the Reinforcement Track glossary entry is missing. I'm extrapolating from previous versions of both old and new Time System here.)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Léan -
Netherlands
Eindhoven
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you. We are going to try the game again this evening. We played it wrong the last time.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.