Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Virgin Queen» Forums » Rules

Subject: Corsairs and piracy question... rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Badger Man
Scotland
Edinburgh
Scotland
flag msg tools
So the rulebook states that during a piracy action:

'2 dice for each naval unit (other than the armada) of the targeted power in the sea zone where piracy is occurring (only possible if the Ottoman is initiating piracy with corsairs).'

Does this mean the Ottoman Corsairs can occupy the same space as another power? I didn't think units could share spaces unless allied or borrowed etc...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kristian Thy
Denmark
Taastrup
flag msg tools
Together, we are the United Nations
badge
Gunulfr ok Øgotr ok Aslakr ok Rolfr resþu sten þænsi æftir Ful, felaga sin, ær warþ ... døþr, þa kunungar barþusk.
Avatar
mb
Naval units can coexist in sea zones as long as they're not at war.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Badger Man
Scotland
Edinburgh
Scotland
flag msg tools
Thanks!

Does that mean if war is declared then there is automatically combat?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kristian Thy
Denmark
Taastrup
flag msg tools
Together, we are the United Nations
badge
Gunulfr ok Øgotr ok Aslakr ok Rolfr resþu sten þænsi æftir Ful, felaga sin, ær warþ ... døþr, þa kunungar barþusk.
Avatar
mb
Yes, see "DOW during the Action Phase", rules p14.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Philip Goldfarb Styrt
United States
Rochester
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, although note that this only occurs if the declaration of war happens during the action phases (since during Diplomacy there should be no fleets at sea). From the rulebook, p. 14

Quote:
If naval units of the two powers now at war occupy the
same sea zone, fight an immediate naval battle between the two
powers with the power earlier in Impulse order as the attacker.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kristian Thy
Denmark
Taastrup
flag msg tools
Together, we are the United Nations
badge
Gunulfr ok Øgotr ok Aslakr ok Rolfr resþu sten þænsi æftir Ful, felaga sin, ær warþ ... døþr, þa kunungar barþusk.
Avatar
mb
(If you want a rules reference to your original question, it's in the left hand column of page 22: "Naval units of two different powers that are not at war may occupy the same sea zone after a move.")
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Stimpson
United States
Westminster
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
While we're on the subject, can we clear up this phrase 'initiating piracy with corsairs'?

Does it mean that if you're the Ottoman performing a piracy action

a) with corsairs as part of your fleet

or

b) with ONLY corsairs

then you are 'initiating piracy with corsairs'?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
MLeis
Estonia
Tallinn
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
cstimpson wrote:
While we're on the subject, can we clear up this phrase 'initiating piracy with corsairs'?

Does it mean that if you're the Ottoman performing a piracy action

a) with corsairs as part of your fleet

or

b) with ONLY corsairs

then you are 'initiating piracy with corsairs'?
With only corsairs is what is meant. Note that this isn't stipulating a new rule but just stating what concludes from previous rules:
1) If two powers are not at war then their naval units can be in the same sea zone. If the powers are at war then they can't.
2) Only corsairs can initiate piracy against a power with whom they are not at war.
Therefore, if there are naval units of the target power in a sea zone where piracy is initiated, the piracy must necessarily have been with only corsairs.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.