$30.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

The Lord of the Rings: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Attacks and Sending Back to the Staging Area rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
J Geyer
msg tools
Quick question for the people at this great community:

Once the Defense part of the Combat Phase begins, does sending an enemy back to the staging area prevent the enemy's attack, or does the attack still happen, but from the staging area instead?

Regardless, at what point is the attack "locked in" and there is nothing a player can do to stop it?

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben O'Steen
United Kingdom
Bishops Stortford
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
What card effect is causing the attacker to go back to the staging area? Is it a player card effect? The card often specifies at what point in the flow of a round it happens.

For example, the Wargs card ability is fairly specific:

"If Wargs is dealt a shadow card with no effect, return Wargs to the staging area after it attacks."

It will attack, you do the defence phase and then it goes back to the staging area, where you cannot mount a normal attack against it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Brown
New Zealand
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Istari97 wrote:
Quick question for the people at this great community:

Once the Defense part of the Combat Phase begins, does sending an enemy back to the staging area prevent the enemy's attack, or does the attack still happen, but from the staging area instead?

Regardless, at what point is the attack "locked in" and there is nothing a player can do to stop it?

Thanks!
each attack has for stages:

- declare attacker
- declare defender
- resolve shadow cards
- resolve damage


as soon as an enemy is a declared attacker (first phase), its attack is locked in.
you have actions windows between each phase (just not during) and between each attack, so if you want to use anything to move an enemy to the staging area or engage with another player, you should use them in between resolving attacks. by the time you've flipped over its shadow card, it's definitely too late


you can cancel the attack prematurely by killing the enemy with direct damage, like from a Gondorian Spearman for example, or removing it from play altogether, which iirc, can only be done with Sneak Attack Saruman if it's attacking from the staging are or moved there after its attack (this way is super convoluted at any rate, but could be used after flipping over the shadow effect and resolving combat damage)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
secoAce -
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Also, if you move an enemy to the Staging Area after combat has started, not only does the previously engaged enemy still deal its attack against you, but you are now not able to target that enemy to damage it (unless you have an ability that lets you attack or damage enemies in the Staging area) so it's giving that enemy a free attack.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robin Munn

Unspecified
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Section 1.32 of the FAQ addresses this question:

FAQ 1.32 wrote:
(1.32) Mid-Attack Control or Engagement Change
If a card involved in combat changes control, is returned to the staging area, or engages another player during the resolution of an attack, that attack still resolves with the card still participating from its new state.


BTW, if you don't have a copy of the FAQ, you need to get one. You can download it from:

https://www.fantasyflightgames.com/en/products/the-lord-of-t...

A card becomes "involved in combat" in the obvious way. When you pick the attacking card that you want to resolve next, that card is now involved in combat. When you pick the defending character, that card is now involved in combat. And so on.

So as others have said, once you pick an attacker, that attack is locked in. If it moves to a different board position, its attack will still resolve against its original target. (However, if it gets discarded -- say, because you managed to deal direct damage to it with something like Gondorian Spearman -- then its attack is nullified).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J Geyer
msg tools
Thanks for responses. This is what I thought.

I have the FAQ, but as I didn't want to bog the game down looking for the ruling we made a quick (correct) ad hoc rule and moved on. When I went back to look, I must have just missed the ruling--hence the post.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.