$20.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Enemy Action: Ardennes» Forums » Rules

Subject: GS: Germans Exposed card rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
MICHAEL MCGUIRE
United States
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Can someone please explain how this card works and what situational strength is? I've read the instructions and the definition of situational strength but I'm just not understanding.
Thank you.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dane P
United States
South Denver
Colorado
flag msg tools
Situational strength:
For an Allied unit, only one or two modifiers will apply (River means that the ally strength will be halved if attacking across, for example). I don't remember the exact wording of that card, but the allied unit may not be subject to any modifier because technically it is not "attacking." That is a key distinguishing factor on that card.

MANY modifiers can apply to the German. Examples include Out of Fuel (minus 1 strength), Disrupted (-1 strength), in a town (+1 strength) etc. When multiple modifiers apply, use all applicable.

When a German exposed card arises:
Inflict the hit on the German IF (and only if) the conditional strength of the German unit in question are as the card describes (is it 2 or less?) If it were 2 or less, and you had a strength 2 unit in a town (+1 conditional modifier) it would be immune. If you had a strength 3 unit in clear terrain (-1 conditional modifier) it would be hit.

This card will plague you until you realize the points where your infantry will be invulnerable to it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Åkerlund
Sweden
Stockholm
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb



First, for this example, let's assume all German units are in supply and the US unit's movement isn't restricted.

The westermost German 212 ID unit is in a forest hex modifying its strength by +1 to 3, which makes it immune to the effects of the "Germans Exposed" card.

The easternmost 5 FJ unit is in a woods hex (no modifier) giving it a situational strength of 3, so it's not exposed.

Finally, the 5FJ unit in hex 1916 is in clear terrain modifying its strength to 2 which makes it eligible for the effect of the "Germans Exposed" card.

The US AB unit would then move adjacent to the German unit in 1916 after which you remove one step from (flip) the FJ unit. Since it's not eliminated there is no US advance after combat.

Note that the just reduced German unit can't be attacked again in this activation.

4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.