$20.00
$15.00
$5.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Star Wars: Rebellion» Forums » Rules

Subject: Death Star destroys planet with own ground units rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Strat Hertler
Germany
Braunschweig
Niedersachsen
flag msg tools
Hi,

when a death star destroys a system with own ground units. What happens to that units?
Are they placed on the destructed system, or near the death star - meaning they are safe in the death star? And what, when units exeed then the transport capacity of the death star?

Or are the units destroyed along with the system?

On the super laser card it says only rebel units are destroyed but where to move the imperial units?

Thanks in advance,
Dunker
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jan Probst
Germany
Kiel
Schleswig Holstein
flag msg tools
They stay in the system up to capacity of your transporting units, anything in excess is destroyed.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Grant
United States
Santa Clarita
CA
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Weltenreiter wrote:
anything in excess is destroyed.


This pleases the Emporer.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Umstattd
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
All Hail Lelouch
mbmbmbmbmb
Anything in excess of the cargo capacity are destroyed. Ground battles don't take place in destroyed systems. Somebody go look up the actual section in the rulebook. There's a whole section on how ground forces work in destroyed systems.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thomas with Subtrendy
msg tools
mbmbmb
I'm trying to figure out when this would actually be an issue, though...

I mean, if you have the Death Star, you already are guaranteed a minimum of 8 carrying capacity- and other carries add only more.

With an excess of at least 9 ground units, you're probably going to outnumber any Rebel Units anywhere but the Rebel Base- and if you're preparing to fire the Death Star and have ground units on the Rebel Base, then the Rebels do not then have units on the Rebel Base- so why fire?

I don't know, maybe I'm really missing something- it's early.


Also, a thought: TIEs obviously require to be "carried" to a different system- however, they do not (as far as I have ever played, at least) need to always be in a system with a space unit that has carrying capacity- that is, unless I'm mistaken, a TIE can be "left" in a system on its own.

If the above is true, in this case would they not count toward the Imp's required carrying capacity, since they are not being carried to a different system? Because, including TIEs, that may significantly change how much carrying space the Imps have available.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Umstattd
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
All Hail Lelouch
mbmbmbmbmb
You're right about the ties.

Where this most commonly would come into practice is if a fleet is moved into a destroyed system and then a battle takes place in that system in which capital ships are destroyed. In this case ground units would be destroyed in excess of the carry capacity.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You don't include the TIEs within the capacity when determining if ground units are destroyed, though. Yes, this makes it practically extremely unlikely any Imperial units would ever be destroyed when the Death Star destroys a system.

The rule is there just because people would ask what happens in the rare situation you did have a huge landing party on the system in question. Perhaps the Imperial player is someone that really hates the prequels and the system is Naboo, so they purposefully engineered it that way?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marty Sample
United States
MILFORD
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Or they want to utilize being able to place a Loyalty Marker in a different planet in the Region in hopes of flushing out where the are Rebel Base is located.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aron
Netherlands
flag msg tools
Life is game, you gotta enjoy the journey.
badge
Life may knock you down sometimes. Its up to you if you stand up and live your life to the fullest.
mbmbmbmbmb
Or it has Rebel loyalty or Imperial subjugation with sabotage and you can hold of a objective and in adition get a free loyalty.
Happens not often, but mid/late game (if you still have a death star) it happens.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Roy Stephens
United States
San Jose
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Interestingly, this exact situation was addressed in a cut scene from Return of the Jedi...

Moff Jerjerrod is NOT a big fan of turning the Death Star's superlaser against his own troops. Probably don't want to have him leading the mission to fire.


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.