Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
14 Posts

The Colonists» Forums » Rules

Subject: Envoy and the range increase rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Phil Davies
United Kingdom
Winchmore Hill
London
flag msg tools
Lv 30 Lawful/Evil Human Dungeon Master
badge
In Toruk's name!
Avatar
mb
Quote:
From level II onward, once per Half-Year, you may pay the Fee to increase your Range by 1


I'm assuming that this means 'for your next turn'. Rather than' for the duration of the half-year' which is one way of interpreting this sentence?

Meaning: on one of your 3 turns in the half year, you may pay the fee to gain +1 range

Rather than: On any given half-year, you may pay the fee to increase your range for all of your turns in that half-year?

To me the intent seems to be that interpretation but the wording isn't clear.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jimmy Okolica
United States
Washington Township
Ohio
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
My reading is that once per half year, you can pay the fee and move one extra space (e.g., move one space, move two spaces, move one space). In any case, paying the fee doesn't count as one of your actions.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mr Avers
Netherlands
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Since it is nowhere stated that the increase of Range only lasts for one turn, we do allow the Range increase to persist for the entire three turns. For us this seems perfectly in line with what other Colonies have to offer.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Annemarie Post
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
GhundiPI wrote:
Since it is nowhere stated that the increase of Range only lasts for one turn, we do allow the Range increase to persist for the entire three turns. For us this seems perfectly in line with what other Colonies have to offer.


I agree, but an official answer would certainly help here.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grzegorz Kobiela
Germany
Hanover
Lower Saxony
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Editor at Lookout Games
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The range increase lasts for the entire half-year.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Phil Davies
United Kingdom
Winchmore Hill
London
flag msg tools
Lv 30 Lawful/Evil Human Dungeon Master
badge
In Toruk's name!
Avatar
mb
Ponton wrote:
The range increase lasts for the entire half-year.


Thanks for the clarification!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff W
United States
Parker
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
GhundiPI wrote:
Since it is nowhere stated that the increase of Range only lasts for one turn


We took the "once" to mean that it increases the range for one turn.

Given the ruling, I suppose the "once" refers to that you cannot pay multiple fees to increase the range multiple times.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grzegorz Kobiela
Germany
Hanover
Lower Saxony
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Editor at Lookout Games
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Exactly.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Phil Davies
United Kingdom
Winchmore Hill
London
flag msg tools
Lv 30 Lawful/Evil Human Dungeon Master
badge
In Toruk's name!
Avatar
mb
junesen wrote:
GhundiPI wrote:
Since it is nowhere stated that the increase of Range only lasts for one turn


We took the "once" to mean that it increases the range for one turn.

Given the ruling, I suppose the "once" refers to that you cannot pay multiple fees to increase the range multiple times.


Oooohhh, this interpretation never occurred to me, hence my assumption that it was only for one turn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chad Weaver
United States
Denver
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So if you have the two improvements that let you disregard the food and the building resources, your range is permanently increased for nothing, correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Donny Behne
United States
Fate
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
www.punchboardmedia.com/geaux-gaming/
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
chadw09 wrote:
So if you have the two improvements that let you disregard the food and the building resources, your range is permanently increased for nothing, correct?


Not having to pay the fee (or being able to negate both aspects of it) means you can take advantage of bonuses requiring the fee for "free".
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grzegorz Kobiela
Germany
Hanover
Lower Saxony
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Editor at Lookout Games
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
chadw09 wrote:
So if you have the two improvements that let you disregard the food and the building resources, your range is permanently increased for nothing, correct?


Correct
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon Pessano
United States
Tampa
FL
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Darke wrote:
Quote:
From level II onward, once per Half-Year, you may pay the Fee to increase your Range by 1


I'm assuming that this means 'for your next turn'. Rather than' for the duration of the half-year' which is one way of interpreting this sentence?

Meaning: on one of your 3 turns in the half year, you may pay the fee to gain +1 range

Rather than: On any given half-year, you may pay the fee to increase your range for all of your turns in that half-year?

To me the intent seems to be that interpretation but the wording isn't clear.


What does "the fee" mean? I keep seeing that term bu still do not how to interpret it.

How do you get the extra range by paying "the fee"?

Thx
jonpfl
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Donny Behne
United States
Fate
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
www.punchboardmedia.com/geaux-gaming/
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jonpfl wrote:
Darke wrote:
Quote:
From level II onward, once per Half-Year, you may pay the Fee to increase your Range by 1


I'm assuming that this means 'for your next turn'. Rather than' for the duration of the half-year' which is one way of interpreting this sentence?

Meaning: on one of your 3 turns in the half year, you may pay the fee to gain +1 range

Rather than: On any given half-year, you may pay the fee to increase your range for all of your turns in that half-year?

To me the intent seems to be that interpretation but the wording isn't clear.


What does "the fee" mean? I keep seeing that term bu still do not how to interpret it.

How do you get the extra range by paying "the fee"?

Thx
jonpfl


Rulebook, page 9: Important! “Fee” always refers to the cost shown on the Era card. Usually, you must pay it when you move to an occupied Place. Some special abilities (that you can unlock with certain Colonies) require you pay the Fee to activate them.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.