Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Secret Hitler» Forums » Rules

Subject: Veto Power Question. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Evan G
msg tools
This came up in a game we played last night.

Very close game (1 card needed for a fascist or liberal win) so veto power was unlocked.

Two liberals got voted in as a power play. So the chancellor will become next president. They chose to veto a triple fascist draw. Then when the veto was accepted, the next president (previous chancellor) chose the previous president to be chancellor. Basically they both stayed in power and just reversed roles.

Is this a legal move? I of course being fascist argued that it was not. since the "Previous President" can not be elected chancellor.

They argued that the rules state "If a policy is veto'd its an inactive government and advances the election tracker."

Basically their argument was that the rules make it seem like a veto'd policy is the same as a failed president/chancellor vote.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alec Usticke
United States
Peekskill
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
It would appear from the rules that it's legal. If they don't enact a policy, then they're not ineligible to be nominated as Chancellor.

Quote:
2. NOMINATE A CHANCELLOR

The Presidential Candidate chooses a Chancellor Candidate by passing the Chancellorship placard to any other eligible player. Players who enacted the last policy are not eligible to be Chancellor Candidate.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
K
United States
Oakland
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
They are ineligible for election for chancellor as normal, so you happened to be right. The liberals would have to find a new Chancellor to trust.

The original rules that were available online with the print and play which are quoted in the above post were sloppy in a few places, this issue being one of those. The rules have been updated and fixed since then, but here's a source with one of the designers of the game clarifying this:

https://www.reddit.com/r/SecretHitler/comments/4gv7j3/update...

Designer wrote:
Veto doesn't have any special effect on eligibility—players who just vetoed are ineligible as usual.


Also note that a government which vetos does not reset the election tracker (another common source of confusion because of the original rules pdf)

Also also, you can grab the whole updated rulebook here.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alec Usticke
United States
Peekskill
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for clarifying. I didn't realize the rules uploaded to BGG are out of date.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Benji
Switzerland
Gurmels
FR
flag msg tools
visit us on www.muwins.ch
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
SirHandsome wrote:
Also note that a government which vetos does not reset the election tracker (another common source of confusion because of the original rules pdf)


The veto itself does not, but the advancment of the tracker might. The election tracker is reset whenever a policy is enacted (NOT when an election is successful). This might lead to a special case where the advancment of the tracker could cause the top policy to be enacted, which in turn would make all players eligible again.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
K
United States
Oakland
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yeah, thanks. My wording there was bad.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ricky Stone
Taiwan
flag msg tools
Could I ask a question?

Does the veto power means that the players must elect the new president and chancellor ?

“both”?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.