Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Wing Leader: Victories 1940-1942» Forums » Rules

Subject: Tally & combat clarification rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John Starman
United States
Elgin
Nebraska
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I am enjoying the game immensely, however I have a couple of things I need clarification on:

the situation:

German squadron A has tally on British bomber 3 levels below and to the front of the aircraft - not in the sun. British wing leader squadron K (at same altitude as German A) has tally on German squadron A while British squadron L (which belongs to the wing leader K formation) is given an order to attack German A. Meanwhile, German squadron F (one level above these aircraft) has tally on British K while British squadron's A & B (in same square as German F after combat last turn but no dogfighting)
have tally on German F.

Per the initiative order move, German A has to move first before British K and L since they have tally on German A even though at the same level.

German A moves to attack the British bomber (which has an escort), the escort successfully reacts in space before the German A enters the bomber square, and having tactical flexibility, sends one flight to attack German A and keeps one flight in escort.
British K & L follow and reach German A (attacking out of the sun) - German F follows and reaches the square attacking British K (out of the sun) - British A & B follow into the square as well after German A (also out of the sun).

So after movement, in the square are the following:
German A - tally on bomber
British escort flight reacting to German A
British K & L - tally on German A
German F - tally on British K
British A & B - tally on German F

My question is thus:
After all of this movement, is there just one combat with each side picking out a primary squadron or flight and resolving combat with no adjustment for out of the sun, etc. (though keeping speed if applicable)? Once the escort reacts, movement of German A ends and has to wait for combat resolution?

Just making sure that I am doing this right! The game really creates an awesome narrative! This is Circus, Circus scenario. Thanks for any help?
John
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lee Brimmicombe-Wood
United Kingdom
Ely
Cambridgeshire
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So let's break this down (note that I am working from v2.0 rules, which have some clarifications to the bounce, Tally and multiple aircraft combat rules).

(1) German A is stopped by the reacting escort and there is a combat outside the bomber square.

(2) Two British squadrons, K & L have tallied German A and move into the square to attack German A from out of the Sun.

(3) German squadron F, has a tally on British K and has piled into the fight. Because of rule 6.1.2 it must wait until both British K & L have moved before it cam move.

(4) Two more British squadrons, A & B, have tallied German F and follow it into the fight.

(5) Everyone is linked by tallies, so we have one huge combat, resolved on a single set of attacker/defender die rolls.

(6) As this is a multiple aircraft situation [10.2], in which fighters have tallies on each other, we have to determine the attacker and defender. In this case, rule 10.1.2 says that the side that moved into the square last determines the attacker, which means the British are attacking and the Germans defending.

(7) Each side picks a primary combatant [10.2], which can be any of the squadrons on each side. The British chooses squadron K, as it is attacking its target from out of the Sun and is eligible for a bounce. The German chooses squadron F, for similar reasons.

(8) The British tries to claim a bounce, as its squadron is the attacker and is attacking from out of the Sun. HOWEVER, the defending German primary combatant has a tally on one of its attackers, which cancels the bounce.

(9) So a combat is resolved. The British calculate the attacking primary combatant's combat strength and add +4 for the additional British fighter squadrons in the square. The German calcuates the defending primary combatant's combat strength and adds +1 for the additional squadron. I suspect the final differential in the combat will firmly favour the British.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ian Wedge
United Kingdom
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
How can German squadron F have a tally on British K if it was in combat with A and B and they are still in the same square? Wouldn't 7.2 stop this?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Starman
United States
Elgin
Nebraska
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Actually, I need to do some clarifying!

German squadron F had combat with British A&B (not British K)in the prior turn with outcome no dogfight. German F did not want to dogfight, British did, but lost the die roll. My assumption than is everyone gets a new tally next turn (could be wrong).

German F on the next tally phase tallied British K which is how it followed British K into the fight. British A&B tallied German F in their tally phase again.

Maybe I am not doing the dogfighting rules and when to drop or end tally's correctly.

Thanks for your reply Lee!! It helped me make sense of a bigger 'melee' in the sky.


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ian Wedge
United Kingdom
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
From 7.2:

If the squadron occupies the same square as an unbroken enemy squadron, it can only make tally attempts against squadrons in its own square. It cannot roll tallies against more distant targets.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Starman
United States
Elgin
Nebraska
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you Ian! I re-read the rule section again and missed this. Appreciate it!!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lee Brimmicombe-Wood
United Kingdom
Ely
Cambridgeshire
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Good point. Where you start in a square with other enemies, your likeliest options are to either continue the fight in your square (though not as a dogfight) or to drop your tally, disengage and reposition for a future tally and attack. (If you're chased, evasion helps here.)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.