Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Codenames» Forums » Rules

Subject: When a clue contains part of a word you DON'T want... rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
J J
msg tools
Here's the rule for reference:

Quote:
You can't say part of a compound word on the table. Until HORSESHOE is covered up, you can't say horse, shoe, unhorsed, or snowshoe.


Clearly you can't say any of those clues to get your team to guess HORSESHOE, but does this rule still apply if you're referring to other cards (i.e. HORSESHOE is not one of your cards)?

This just happened in a recent game:
FIRE (blue)
POST (blue)
SNOWMAN (assassin)

The Spymaster gave the clue "Man:2" which prompted some arguing. If the rule still applies in this case, that means this would never be a legal clue in the game since the assassin would never be covered up, correct?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
joe dagostino
United States
Cupertino
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'd say correct. It's on the table.
10 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Kyo
Japan
Osaka
flag msg tools
Forward 1, Forward 2, Forward 3... siege attack 5?
badge
Why for this life there's no man smart enough, life's too short for learning every trick and bluff.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It's explicit: You can't say part of a compound word on the table.

That's all there is to it.
13 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Susan
United States
Mesa
Arizona
flag msg tools
www.Meetup.com/ArizonaGames
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Man would not be allowed until snowman is covered. Which in this case would mean game over.

If someone does make a mistake like this the rules cover how to handle it.

The other team gets to cover a word and it's the other teams turn.



3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.