$5.00
$20.00
$15.00
$30.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Sword of Rome» Forums » Rules

Subject: Alliance and siege rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
egrimm egrimm
France
flag msg tools
hi,

I've look on the rules and didn't found that :

- Considering i attack a city occupied by an allied but bessieged by an ennemy. We together succeded to break the siege. The ennemy retreat ( or is destroy because he had no path to retreat ) - what happen to my army ?
it can't stay on the same place of my allie CU, so what's happen ?

- The army return to the first friendly space around from where it come ? And if it do so, does it take loses for retreating in ennemy spaces ?

- It stay on the space, consider like 2 different space ? Inside city and outside city ?

- It's considering as a flank army so in this case it must attack from an adjacent space ?


- Or we simply can't deliver an allie city by breaking a siege ?


And other question : Can we finish a mouvement on an empty allie city space ? And retreat outside the wall if necessary ?





 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marty Sample
United States
MILFORD
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
egrimm wrote:


- It's considering as a flank army so in this case it must attack from an adjacent space ?


- Or we simply can't deliver an allie city by breaking a siege ?


And other question : Can we finish a mouvement on an empty allie city space ? And retreat outside the wall if necessary ?







See the Living Rules:

15.3 Stacking

Allied forces may not stack together. They may move through each other without any MP penalty or having to battle, but may not end movement in a space with another power’s CU and/or leaders.

PLAY NOTE: This stacking restriction means you cannot attack an enemy army sieging an ally’s city, if the ally has CU inside the city, because if you are successful two allied forces would end the movement phase in the same space. While prohibiting such actions may seem arbitrary it was done to prevent writing a multitude of exception/restriction rules just to cover this one situation.

DESIGN NOTE: Coalition armies were rare in the ancient world during this time period. Even during battles where two powers were attacking a common foe, the forces tended to be separate entities. The use of a Campaign card simulates this type of action. (9.5.6)

However, if you use a Campaign Card the Living rules state:

9.5.8 Coordinated Attacks and Allied Armies: Allied armies can coordinate attacks with each other as the flanking army is not placed in the battle site, which would violate 16.2, but is instead placed adjacent to the battle site. A player may play a campaign card to sortie, 13.4.1, and then activate an allied army as a flanking force to aid the battle.

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
egrimm egrimm
France
flag msg tools
Ok thank you.

Quote:
While prohibiting such actions may seem arbitrary it was done to prevent writing a multitude of exception/restriction rules just to cover this one situation.


But it's sad because it's stay a restriction / exception anyway, but a one that's minimise the impact of alliance.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.