Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Mansions of Madness: Second Edition» Forums » Rules

Subject: Innsmouth monster movements (spoiler alert!) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
air show
Italy
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
During the first game with this scenario we had one doubt:

Spoiler (click to reveal)




Look at the top tile, the one with water and a boat: one investigator was inside the Moldy Shack room in the right space, while the horde was in the space to the left, the Beach; the app instructed to move the horde two spaces forward, so the horde entered the space to the right, and then moved on.

the investigator was safe? or he had to be overwhelmed by the horde as usual?


thanks!
AS
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian
United States
Nassau County
New York
flag msg tools
IIRC, safe because
Spoiler (click to reveal)
the horde
moves towards the
Spoiler (click to reveal)
rental dock.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B C Z
United States
Reston
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Spoiler (click to reveal)
He was hiding in the shack, safe, for now.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
air show
Italy
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks guys. AFAIK in that specific situation, trying to ruling it:

Spoiler (click to reveal)
The horde starts in the first (left) space of the Beach outdoor room, and it is instructed to move X spaces toward a specific following Room (we can call it "room X"),hitting everyone along his route.

The horde moves along the Beach spaces, then arrives in the first space of room X. The Shack is part of Beach tile, but it's a different room, so it is not considered by the horde movement, who ignores it.

This is why the investigator is safe, correct?


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, that is valid reasoning.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lara Spitz
msg tools
I also have a question about the mob.

I suppose, you all know the instructions for the mob movement.
In our case, the mob should move two spaces towards the docks, but the designated room (docks) was only one space away.
So the question arised:
Does the mob move one space onto the docks' first space?
Does the mob move two spaces onto the docks' second space?
Do the investigators decide, whether the mob moves one or two spaces?

(Because we were unsure what's correct, we decided for the worst solution, a space with a investigator, which resulted in a loss soon after.)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You played incorrectly.

Towards is defined in the RRG. If a monster is moving towards something, it must reduce the distance between it and its destination every time it moves.

When moving towards a tile, this means you definitely stop if you reach that tile before your movement range is used up. You are now 0 spaces away from that tile and it is impossible to move towards the tile.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lara Spitz
msg tools
Thank you very much for answering!

My interpretation was similar that the mob reached its destination and therefore stops. But the wording "moves two spaces" made me insecure, because it could have been written "moves up to two spaces".

By the way the correct ruling would have been better for us.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
'Up to' would be incorrect. That would give the players the choice to move it 0 spaces. That's up to 2 after all, and the players make all choices when multiple results are possible.

If it were to be worded differently, it'd be 'move as many as possible up to a maximum of 2 spaces towards'. Personally I prefer the wording they chose.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.