Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Asgard» Forums » Rules

Subject: Question about Battle Example in Rulebook: Overspending warriors/giants? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Eric Lee
United States
Sacramento
California
flag msg tools
badge
Andy, you Goonie!!!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
From the rulebook example in the sidebar on page 10:

Quote:
World 2: 2 God Tiles.
Value of Light Side is 5 (1 for the Tile + 4 for the Ancient Weapon).
Value of Darkness Side is 5 (4 for the Tile + 1 for the Ancient Weapon).
There is a tie.
If Red wants to make Darkness (his side in the battle) win, he has to add at least 1 Strength point by sending a Recruit.
He has a Giant and a Warrior in his supply. He could have used the Warrior (1 strength point is enough), but he decides to use the Giant. He places it back in the common supply.
Now the Darkness Side has a value of 7, so it is winning.
He moves his disc to the Victory Area


What is the point of this example? As in, if all the red player really needs to do to win the battle is add a 1 strength point warrior that it says he/she has, why would such a player spend a 2-point giant instead?

Is this example just to show that they can overspend/waste a giant if they so choose?

It's not like after spending the 1 strength warrior the god on the Light Side is going to hit back with another 2 strength and bring their own to 7 to match the 6 strength of red's supported god considering they've put in all they're going to put in with the strength of the god (4) plus the ancient weapons (1)--the Light Side is basically an NPC here and can't buff their strength up by bringing in warriors on their own.

Just a curiosity; wondering if I'm missing something. Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simon Fradette
Canada
Sherbrooke
Quebec
flag msg tools
mb
Yes, I think it's mostly to show that you can choose to spend the units you want, which can be important so that you have a certain type of unit left to build another temple, or because you don't want to add units to Valhalla.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.