$35.00
Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

30 Rails» Forums » Rules

Subject: Rule clarification question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Alex Umrysh
United States
South Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
I was wondering about the rule that says
Quote:
It is not permitted for a line to pass over the same
length of track twice. However, a line may pass
through the same square twice via a crossover or
double curve.


This rule is in the scoring section, and it seems like there are two ways it could be interpreted.

1: The player may place lines which pass through the same square twice, but they will not be counted in the scoring.

or

2: It is illegal to place lines which pass through the same square ever during play.

If it is the second, I think it would make more sense for this rule to be explained before the scoring section, perhaps somewhere between Turn Sequence and Game End.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex Umrysh
United States
South Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Also, based on this rule, are loops forbidden? The beginner strategy which suggests using a central loop, would violate the no double line use rule depending on the interpretation.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Israel Waldrom
New Zealand
Dunedin
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The rule isn't about placing track, but about scoring.

When placing track, you only ever place one tile of track per square - hence the name 30 rails.

When scoring, you trace the shortest route between each combination of stations (if possible). This rule states that when doing so you can't go over the same piece of track twice. The picture examples give a good idea of what is and isn't allowed.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.