$20.00
$60.00
Dan Thorpe
United Kingdom
Birkenhead
Merseyside
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
When you hire the assistance specialist does it come with an auto apprentice?

If you take the magician setup from the rule book the person who starts with the assistant comes with an apprentice too. So Im just wondering if you get a free one when you hire off the Downtown area?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Burgess
United Kingdom
Cambridge
Cambridgeshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You do not. Any of the bonuses you get for starting with each specialist only apply at the start of the game.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Combs
United States
Spring Lake Park
Minnesota
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
No, you only get the bonus apprentice if you chose the assistant during setup. You will either need to use a workshop action to move an apprentices to the assistant board or the next time you hire an apprentice you can put it directly on the assistant board.

Same applies to the engineer and manager with tricks and components.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Thorpe
United Kingdom
Birkenhead
Merseyside
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks all. We played it that you didnt. Just wanted to make sure.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Beazer
United States
Orem
Utah
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
After you have recruited a new apprentice, you will need to use the workshop action available on the "pretty assistant" to move the new apprentice to the "free" apprentice slot on the pretty assistant.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Desiree Greverud
Sweden
Stockholm
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
carrion wrote:
After you have recruited a new apprentice, you will need to use the workshop action available on the "pretty assistant" to move the new apprentice to the "free" apprentice slot on the pretty assistant.

actually, if on turn 1 you hire the Pretty Assistant and then on turn 2 you hire an apprentice, you can immediately assign that apprentice to the free spot on the Pretty Assistant. only if you do things in the other order (hire the apprentice first then the assistant) do you need to use the workshop action to move the apprentice to the free slot.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Combs
United States
Spring Lake Park
Minnesota
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
DragonsDream wrote:
carrion wrote:
After you have recruited a new apprentice, you will need to use the workshop action available on the "pretty assistant" to move the new apprentice to the "free" apprentice slot on the pretty assistant.

actually, if on turn 1 you hire the Pretty Assistant and then on turn 2 you hire an apprentice, you can immediately assign that apprentice to the free spot on the Pretty Assistant. only if you do things in the other order (hire the apprentice first then the assistant) do you need to use the workshop action to move the apprentice to the free slot.


And to quell any further arguments about this, the designer already confirmed in this thread, A question concerning specialists..., that this is correct.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.